Skip to content

Dibs on Naming Rights

October 22, 2011

My brother is a creative warrior.  And he has been since the day I met him. 

When he was in 4th grade, he was turning out impressive self-published books about the beloved adventures of Soda Popinski and the Bubble Gum Kid. 

When I was in 4th grade, I was tracing Garfield from the Sunday comics. 

And growing up with my brother, who is five years older than me, I was forever the weakling of the family.  No, not just in the obvious area of physical prowess, but also when it came down to wit. 

Yes, wit.  An often overlooked but nary overused weapon that comes in handy in the midst of contentious sibling discourse. 

He was particularly quick with a nickname.  In fact, I looked to him to name my stuffed animals.  When other girls drug around their stupid bunny foo-foos, I had my brilliant bunny Hazel — a nod to the novel Watership Down.  And my favorite teddy bear was not wimpy Teddy, but a valiant Perseus from Clash of the Titans.  My brother did fall into a temporary dry spell where things got repetitive.  Thus, I had a stuffed bear named Cambridge and yet another named Boston.

For no apparent reason, for about two weeks, my brother took to calling my dad Billy.  Or, as he said it using the Jamaican pronunciation, “Bih-LEH.”  It didn’t go over well with my dad for multiple reasons. 

For starters, his name is Larry.

Where Billy derived  from remains a mystery.  And the meaninglessness of it, launched it to an even higher plane of hilarity. 

“My name is not Billy.  I am your father.  You call me Dad,” I overheard one evening. 

Soon after that very serious talking-to, we were sitting around for a family meal when my dad gave his “compliments to the chef.”  Dads are legendary for this digestional breach of etiquette.  Commonly no one dares acknowledge what just occurred.  But my brother was feeling punchy and blurted out in the tone of a throwback Steve Martin, “Excuuuuuse you, Bih-LEH.”

At that very moment at our kitchen table, you could hear a pin drop on the linoleum floor.  Which is saying something if you’ve ever dropped a pin on linoleum.  I’m guessing you haven’t.  Which is probably a good thing because under normal circumstances you’d never hear it fall.  And days later it would inevitably pierce right into your foot pad, sending you straight to the ER.  

I’m talking seriously soundproof and in serious trouble.  And I’m talking pins that can dismember you.    

I’m sorry to report Billy did not survive past that dinner.  My brother barely did.

***

Childhood nicknames are pesky things to shake.  Which is not always bad.  My son calls my daughter Sissy.  And she in turn calls him Mister.  Which causes my heart to flood with sweet molasses.  And right about then, I long to gather them up in my arms, shrink them down to the size of two sugared gumdrops and pack them into a tiny snowglobe that I can carry on a string around my neck for always and forever. 

It’s safe to assume my mother didn’t feel the same.

When I was seven, I was Nicotine. 

I didn’t mind.  I didn’t know Nicotine was inside the tarry substance in cigarettes that forces human lungs to implode and people to talk through a robotic device held to their vocal cords. 

Nicotine sounded quite lovely in fact.  Not too far off from some other very nice names I would’ve loved to be called back then.  Specifically:

“Tangerine”

“Justine”

“Dancing Queen”

When we went about town on our regular rounds, blowing our allowance on Pez dispensers and Archie comic books, my brother would use Nicotine as his cattle call to signal from across the store that it was time to go home. 

“Nicotiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine!” 

I can imagine, at the very sound, I probably took off in a sprint in his direction, tail wagging happily behind me like a loyal frisby dog named Buttjam.  It must’ve been heart-wretching for spectators to witness.  That po’ child.  I s’pose her momma didn’t know better.  (I didn’t grow up in Mississippi, but I thought a Southern voice sounded more sympathetic here.)

But Nicotine was not like Bubba.  No, I knew right away that Bubba was no good.  Nothing about it sounded like the name of a beautiful sitcom waif.  And it didn’t matter that it was embedded in the brand of my favorite food in the world, second only to Pop-Tarts.

On one particularly sensitive day, after erupting into tears, my brother offered me the opportunity of a lifetime.  If he could keep calling me Bubba, guilt-free, I could pick a nickname to call him.  With no fear of retaliation.  

The actual terms of the agreement were arranged as such:

1.)    He could continue calling me Bubba.

2.)    I could pick out his nickname.

3.)    We would choose our own last names.

4.)    These new combined nicknames would be fair game for all of time.

Okay, let’s start with #2.  My brother knew I didn’t stand a chance at throwing anything that could stick to, let alone penetrate, a protective forcefield.  But I was willing to gamble that, with my time spent riding in the neighborhood kids’ carpool, I had accrued a lot of zingers. 

So I dug down deep into my bag of nonsensical gibberish.  My Yosemite Sam curse words, if you will.  And I came up with . . .

Dee Dee.

Yep, brutally cut him right down to the quick.  He certainly didn’t rebound from that bruiser anytime soon.

Getting down to #3, for his last name, my brother selected a name with dignity and fortitude.  A man who knows his way around the boardroom, can select a fine wine and play a mean game of tennis.  Hixon.

I immediately selected the surname I always used for my Barbie — you know, for when she needed to fill out job applications or whatnot. 

Rosebush.

Naturally, Barbie Rosebush got hired for all professional positions.  It helped that she always wore her lucky spandex aerobics suit to interviews. 

Unfortunately, Rosebush didn’t work out for Bubba the way it did for Barbie.  No, I’m pretty sure Bubba Rosebush was turned down for every job.  Even the one at Mel’s Diner emptying grease from the potato cake fryer.

Initially, I felt pretty confident in my selections.  In time, I realized I’d failed.

The key is, you’d have to hear the name said repeatedly in the way of my brother.  Somewhat like a cross between Louis Armstrong and a high school basketball game sports announcer drunk on spiked Gatorade. 

Buuuuuuuuuba Roooooooooooooooooosebush. 

Again and again he’d pummel me with that verbal cannonball.    

Buuuuuuuuuba Rooooooooooooooooooosebush. 

I’d collapse in searing pain.  And then fire back with my cap gun.  

Dee Dee Hixon.  Dee Dee Hixon.  Dee Dee Hixon.

And that’s when it’d smash into me again, tearing right through my vital organs.

Buuuuuuuuuba Rooooooooooooooooooosebush.

It’s moments like these that a kid wishes her name was Nicotine

No, really.  It’s pretty.  Pretty like a tobacco field princess asleep in an iron lung.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 12:55 pm

    This post is hilarious. It reminds me of an essay I would read in a David Sedaris book (He is one of my fav writers).

    I might start calling my husband Nicotine Rosebush. He likely will not answer to it.

    • October 22, 2011 1:03 pm

      No, David Sedaris is not one of your favorite writers because he is one of MY favorite writers. And you already cloned me on the Shaun Cassidy obsession.

      Thanks. That is a huge compliment. Although, since I’m a big fan of his, now I’m wondering if unintentionally and subconciously (do those mean the same thing?) I’m ripping off his schtick.

      I met David Sedaris (if “met” means “walked past him” at a book signing) and he was so cute and tiny I wanted to lovingly place him in my pocket.

  2. October 22, 2011 2:30 pm

    Nice. Your brother sounds like the same torture master that my son was to my daughter. When he was 10, he demanded that we start calling him BJ (his initials are JB). My wife and I were like… “Uh, we’re not calling you BJ. You’ll understand why later.”
    Once again, a laser focus view into your, uh, functional family.
    Les

    • October 22, 2011 5:43 pm

      Wait, what does, BJ mean? Should I be worried that this is what we call one of my children?

      I think “torture master” and “big brother” might mean the same thing.

      • Emily permalink
        February 6, 2012 12:16 pm

        Angie–B.J. is sometimes used as a short form for “blow job.”

      • February 6, 2012 5:13 pm

        Eeeeek! Yes, I know that! But 1979-Angie doesn’t! Oh, lord, here we go with the questions. I’ll try to redirect her into thinking it’s a reference to one of her favorite shows, B.J. and the Bear.

        (I recall a similar conversation played out after I heard that reference in the movie Bachelor Party.)

  3. October 22, 2011 3:27 pm

    This was hysterical! As you know, I had five brothers to tease and nickname me. What’s odd is at one point they referred to me as “Mallory” (apparently I was ditzy? who knew?) while I nicknamed my smarty-pants older brother, “APK” or of course, Alex P. Keaton. Oh, did we love to torture each other, good memories…(also love the Hubba Bubba reference…I used to spend all of my paper route money on it)

    My son calls my daughter “Little Miss J Poopy-Pants”. She calls him, “IHATEYOUIHATEYOUIHATEYOU!” I’d say she wins the nickname contest.

    • October 22, 2011 5:48 pm

      I recognize that this story, to you, must seem like a nursery rhyme. As in, you could probably top me a million times over in tales of sibling brutality.

      I would take “Mallory” as a compliment, minus the whole “dumber than a box of rocks” thing. I so wanted to be Mallory Keaton. Or Justine Bateman. Either one.

      Funny! I love your daughter’s nickname for your son — a girl after my own heart.

  4. Patrick permalink
    October 23, 2011 12:17 pm

    Great post!

    Oddly enough, my family didn’t really use nicknames growing up. But now I give everything nicknames, from my wife (Muttonchop, Peanut, Sass-quatch, and others, depending on my mood) to my car (Mr. Beeps) to our laptops (Bertie and Lucille).

    • October 23, 2011 2:25 pm

      I have to say, you are a swell nicknamer. I love all of those. I would never guess you’re just getting started in your nicknaming career.

  5. October 23, 2011 1:37 pm

    So glad all my abuse didn’t scar you for life, sis! And I have to say you have surpassed my title of the ‘Wit Master’ by a country mile. Keep up the great posts!! Love you :D

    • October 23, 2011 2:28 pm

      Ha. Not true (re: Wit Master). And thanks for not calling me out here on any fact flubs. Because, after some thought, I believe now I was actually Bubba Rosebush before I became Nicotine.

  6. jesse m permalink
    October 24, 2011 12:32 am

    I definately laughed out loud reading this one! i can only imagine tony busting out some steve martin at the dinner table! great stuff!

    • October 24, 2011 7:14 am

      Thanks! And I’m sure you were an accomplice in some of those name tauntings. Guilty by association, at the very least.

  7. LaVonna permalink
    October 24, 2011 7:15 pm

    There were 5 of us and I remember NO nicknames (ask your Dad about that, Angie). Anyway was just wondering what poor Kailey and Monika get called??

  8. October 26, 2011 1:51 am

    Good one, Nicotine. I used to think up nicknames for people to call me, not one of them stuck. Until someone started calling me Itty, but I’ve never known why.

  9. russelllindsey permalink
    January 17, 2012 7:33 pm

    I HAD that Barbie LOL. I forgot about her. I’m having too much fun reading your blog. I still have a few nicknames given to me by my Dad (Lanzo – I have NO idea where he came up with that one) and my Grandpa (Lindo – again, no idea – my cousins still came me Lindo from time to time. I’ve always like Lindo – mean pretty en espanol.

    I always wanted an older brother … now I’m not sure why.

    Hasta Luego.

    Lindsey

    • January 17, 2012 8:14 pm

      Lanzo and Lindo — that sounds like the making of a great SNL skit right there. Thanks for reading!

  10. russelllindsey permalink
    January 17, 2012 9:32 pm

    You’re welcome! It does sound like an SNL skit.

    Lindsey

  11. Amanda permalink
    June 2, 2012 3:03 pm

    Great post! You have a great style of writing! Love it!
    My brother had some lovely nicknames for me, one being “failed abortion.” And he’s my younger brother… Such a sweet kid.

    • June 3, 2012 8:19 pm

      Thank you, Amanda! Holy crap, your brother must be some kind of evil, evil genius. And I thought Nicotine was bad.

Trackbacks

  1. Totally Awesome 80s Rewind: Childhood Relived | Ramblings of a Misguided Blonde

Comment. All the cool kids do.

