Skip to content

Call me Claire . . .

December 19, 2011

Thank you to those kind-hearted readers who voted for me in The Good Greatsby’s caption contest last week.  You really came through for me, and you really must love Circus Peanuts

I’m thrilled to report back that I won!  I really did.  And I won some really, really wonderful prizes (read about them here).  Though this contest did not allow me to showcase my impressive drawings of people in colonial garb and though my prizes did not include a lifetime supply of Rice-A-Roni like the professional game show winners get, I’m nevertheless pleased as punch.

Sure, I know I didn’t have the best contest entry, but I know you all took pity on me with my I Have a Dream (To be A Mean Girl) speech.  Yes, that pull-at-the-heartstrings approach really worked you over, and that is why I love every last one of you.  Like whiskers on kittens!  

Nope, no longer will I be unpopular Molly-Ringwald-as-Samantha.  Today, going forward, I am popular Molly-Ringwald-as-Claire!

Okay, but there is this one thing.  And I hesitate to even bring it up and seem ungrateful, I mean what with all the popularity that I’ve now achieved thanks to our your votes — people wanting to french braid their hair in the same right-then-left formation as mine and chew the same flavor of gum (peach) as I do, people secretly having nightmares that they’ll bump into me at the mall while they’re out shopping with their parents, etc.   

But now I’m having a little buyer’s remorse.

You see, in giving up my former life as unpopular Molly-as-Samantha . . .

 

. . . who ended up with the lovely Jake Ryan . . .

. . . I, Molly-Claire, . . .

. . . get to lock lips with . . .  

. . . Skeezy Thug Guy . . .

. . . who probably has lip fungus.  Or head lice.  Or sports ballpoint pen tattoos. 

But then again . . .

. . . it could be worse.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2011 9:52 pm

    Congrats, Claire! I can’t wait to get my scrunchie in the mail! Patrick said he’d prefer the Circus Peanuts.

    • December 20, 2011 8:05 pm

      If I remember correctly, you like denim scrunchies with rinestones. You’re in luck! I have one to send to you.

      Does Patrick have any weird feelings about mold?

  2. December 20, 2011 12:54 am

    You won a contest. Isn’t your mom going to take a picture of you with a teeshirt on? I mean, you still have a few blogs to go.
    Les

    • December 20, 2011 8:06 pm

      Good question. I think a photo of me standing next to my laptop and a bag of moldy Circus Peanuts would be a nice touch.

  3. December 20, 2011 2:44 am

    Yay, you! I know this is just the start of awards and prizes and honors and posh invitations. Congratulations, again!

    • December 20, 2011 8:09 pm

      Thanks. Yep, I’m really somebody now. No more waiting in line at Best Buy for me. No siree.

  4. December 20, 2011 5:27 am

    Congrats on the contest and skeezy thug guy! What do I get, considering I’ve been in last place in almost every single contest??

    • December 20, 2011 8:10 pm

      I know the “last place” thing was just you helping me out. If you were to have lobbied your own readers as shamelessly as I did, you no doubt would’ve crushed me.

  5. December 20, 2011 8:03 am

    Congrats! I know being popular Molly doesn’t come without a cost but at least now your underwear is safe.

  6. December 20, 2011 8:07 am

    Yay! Congrats!

  7. December 20, 2011 10:13 am

    Congratulations!

  8. December 20, 2011 6:45 pm

    Congratulations! I wouldn’t worry too much about the skeevy guy. I think the next day Claire come to her senses and started dating Ralph Macchio.

    • December 20, 2011 8:36 pm

      Perfect. Now, if you tell me she starts dating Ralph Macchio as Karate Kid and he’s still wearing his headband and everything, all will be right with the world.

Comment. All the cool kids do.

