Skip to content

I Got Your “Freshly Pressed” Right Here

January 31, 2012

So you may know that a couple of weeks ago WordPress.com selected my blog post on youth mentoring (here) to feature on its homepage, otherwise known as “Freshly Pressed” (here).

Big deal.  Really, really, really, really big deal.

That is, if by “big deal” you mean “big deal” to me — and a few others who also think it’s a “big deal,” including my mother, my husband and a guy I talked with at the post office last week, though he might’ve thought I was actually talking about corned beef.

My blogger friend Paprika, a fellow Freshly Pressed alum (Go Tigers!), reported that her husband Oregano had crunched the numbers for her on this Freshly Pressed phenomenon.  If he’s right, based on the million-some blog posts published each week on WordPress and the mere dozen-some selected to be featured each week, each blog post has about a 1 in 80,000 chance of being Freshly Pressed.

Pretty rad, huh.

Now here are some other interesting statistics:

1 in 80,000 people can correctly sing the words to The Star-Spangled Banner.

1 in 80,000 people think the national anthem should be Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go.

1 in 80,000 people think the next President of the United States should be Mayor McCheese.

1 in 80,000 people watched this spin-off show.

1 in 80,000 of those people remembered watching it.

1 in 80,000 of those people remembered enjoying it.

1 in 80,000 of those people can correctly identify this character’s name.

1 in 80,000 people believe blogging on 1980s pop culture can become a lucrative career.

1 in 80,000 of those people know what “lucrative” means.

**Source:  A Fairly Reliable Source**

Usually when I see another blogger get featured on Freshly Pressed, I know I can expect to see a future post about what it was like to be on Freshly Pressed.

“Oh, please.  If I ever get on Freshly Pressed, I’ll never write about being on Freshly Pressed.  That is so lame.” — 2011-Angie

That’s like acknowledging it’s a “big deal”.  It’s like acknowledging you’re cool, like you care or something.  Because if you do care that you’re cool, that right there makes you uncool.

Instead, I decided I’d go about it the Fonzie way, like I practically didn’t even notice the whole Freshly Pressed thing.  Like I practically didn’t even notice I published the Freshly Pressed post.  That’s right.  I clicked on “publish” and thought, oops, did I just publish this?  I was planning to just save it for myself to enjoy.  Oh, well.  I guess it’d be okay if a few other people read it, not that I care if they read it or not.  Not that I care about writing for anyone but myself.  Not that I care about anything.

So I’ll just pretend getting Freshly Pressed was no big deal.

It happens that, around my house, there were those who didn’t have to pretend it was no big deal.

“I got your Freshly Pressed right here.  Can you put them away for us now?  You’re not gonna let them sit here for two weeks like last time, are you?” — Angie’s husband

“I got your Freshly Pressed right here.  Now grab the scooper and get it out of my sight.  Quick, before I change my mind and toss it down to the dog.” — Angie’s cat

“I got your Freshly Pressed right here.  And I sat on it through an entire episode of Dora.” — Angie’s son

So after the Freshly Pressed luster wears off, after the buzz dies down, after you’ve scooped out another hairy turd from the litterbox, what are you really left with?

New blog subscribers!  That’s right!  I got new readers!  That’s great!

Now, I cannot confirm those new readers are actually reading my blog.  In fact, most of them are probably not.  In fact, one of them is named “Ihavephotosforyou” and another one is “getsexsupplieshere.”

That’s okay.  I’ve done it too.  In a moment of excitement, in a moment of weakness, you mistakenly click on “Follow Blog.”   In this case, it may be after seeing a picture of a 1980s adolescent with an even worse perm than you had . . .

. . . whose awkward years make yours look like a Teen USA pageant.  And you think, “Surely I can live with seeing more of this.  At the very least, it makes me feel better about the feathered mullet I had.  Subscribe!”

And then, I might’ve tagged my Freshly Pressed post as “parenting”.  Oh.  And then, my blog tagline might have “parenting” in it as well.

(Do I ever talk with y’all about parenting?  Oh, I don’t.  Oops.)

Dear New Readers,

I don’t write about parenting here.  Unless by “parenting” you mean someone telling about her haphazard childhood upbringing that will make you rethink what you once understood to be “parenting.”  If not, then no.  Or, unless by “parenting” you mean when I wrote about how my son picked a booger in preschool and presented it to me on a piece of felt.  If not, then no.

Stay cool,

Angie

And then, I also might’ve been on Freshly Pressed with a slightly different type of post than I normally write.  Less “rubber chicken” and more “Chicken Soup for the Soul.”

That’s okay.  I’m thrilled that I might’ve persuaded a few someones to mentor a few younger someones.  Thrilled!  Seriously.  Thrilled!

But I also have to wonder if my new readers might think that’s the only way I roll, yo.

Dear New Readers,

I mostly write about a bratty kid.  Me.  I hope that won’t upset you, seeing that you came to my blog thinking I only write about kids who are lovable.  I also hope that this won’t dissuade you from mentoring, seeing that you might now worry about having to mentor a brat like 1989-Angie.

Also, I like to say “crap” and sometimes “sh*t” (but only with the asterisk) and a handful of times “f—” (but only with the dashes), and occasionally I allow 1979-Angie to cuss too.

Rock on,

Angie

So where else does this leave me, post-Freshly Pressed?

I learned from other Freshly Pressed alums like Nicki, Speaker7Darla and Becoming Cliche that you don’t get a Freshly Pressed coffee cup or a keychain out of it.  Not even a Freshly Pressed press-on tattoo.

But Lisa, Paprika, Peg and I have discussed getting real Freshly Pressed tats.  And Elyse is welcome to join us at the tattoo parlor once she officially joins our club.  (And she promised to go halfsies on the subsequent Hepatitis shots.)

And speaking of Peg, she likened the rush she got from being Freshly Pressed to “a heroin rush” that she forever wants to chase — until the shakes go away and until she can again feel the searing hot goodness that’ll make her stop scratching her face and chewing on the bricks outside her house which always seem to help her rotting gums not ache as bad from the withdrawal.

That isn’t exactly how Peg put it, but this is what I assumed she meant.  And I might’ve therefore assumed she does heroin.

So I’m going to keep on keepin’ on with my dragon-chasing, hoping for the next rush — the next 1 in 80,000 Freshly Pressed — but also still being grateful if the only 1 in 80,000 my blog ever sees again is simply finding that 1 in 80,000 who, along with me, can correctly identify this character’s name.

And, with that, I’ll know I’ve accomplished something well worth writing about.

91 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 5:40 pm

    :) I would have written about the experience if I ever used my blog for actual writing instead of.. whatever it is. (I think I could better market my blog is I knew how to describe it.) It was a super big deal to me. It’s a super big deal to me that anyone likes it at all. Luckily, I had my personal facebook page to go nuts on. And luckily, my friends and family indulged me despite not knowing what the hell I was jabbering on about.

    • January 31, 2012 9:32 pm

      I think even better than you getting Freshly Pressed is you being among a very select few listed under the WordPress recommend reading tab “Staff Picks.” I noticed you there recently. I’d be slapping that up on my Facebook page.

      • February 1, 2012 1:43 pm

        I expect them to take it away any day now.

      • February 1, 2012 1:51 pm

        Hey, I’m on that list under humor. Not on the main page like Miss Middlesister (Hi, I’m Peg, nice to meet you and conrats, BTW), but still…Not meaning to brag, but holy, comoly – I didn’t even know that list was there!

      • February 1, 2012 2:07 pm

        Hello! So very pleased to make your acquaintance!

      • February 1, 2012 8:50 pm

        Truly, Peg — you are AWESOME. Did you check the recommended reading tab for 1980s pop culture? I’m pretty sure I’m there, aren’t I? Aren’t I? ;)

      • February 1, 2012 8:51 pm

        No way, Nicki — they put the blogs on their staff picks list that they expect to go places someday. I mean it.

      • February 2, 2012 9:36 am

        No, but a couple of hours after I saw mine, I saw YOUR blog on the same “best of WordPress” recommended sites under HUMOR. Not kidding here, Angie. WHoo hoo!

      • February 2, 2012 10:19 am

        Seriously, Peg??? You made my day!

  2. January 31, 2012 5:41 pm

    I’m glad a bratty kid like you got Freshly Pressed, because I might not have found you otherwise. You are a different generation from me, but with the same sensibilities. Sort of like the bratty daughter I never had.

    • January 31, 2012 9:34 pm

      Awwww, thanks. What’s for dinner tonight, Mom? I hope you don’t mind doing my laundry. ;)

  3. January 31, 2012 5:51 pm

    Great post! Thanks for sharing Oregano’s stats with all of your old and new readers. I’m sure he’ll be excited in his nerdy math geek way.

    I’m glad you’re not letting your Freshly Pressedness go to your head and that you’ll continue to writing and keep us laughing.

    • January 31, 2012 9:36 pm

      Now if Oregano could make all of these figures into a series of visual aid charts that I could display on my blog, that’d be super-duper! I hope that won’t put him out too much.

      • February 1, 2012 7:38 pm

        He did the graphs and visual aids for my master’s thesis so I’m sure if he reads this, he’d be willing, just as soon as he’s done playing with his taxes.

      • February 1, 2012 8:52 pm

        I love geeks! My husband is one too.

  4. January 31, 2012 5:57 pm

    What do you mean there is no Freshly Pressed coffee cup of keychain? This is an outrage I tell you! An outrage! ;) Epic achievement nonetheless – and thoroughly deserved. Definitely worth adding to your CV / epitaph.

    Here’s to you “Here’s to the crazy ones, the misfits, the rebels, the troublemakers, the round pegs in the square holes… the ones who see things differently” (Steve Jobs) http://jessseeker.wordpress.com/2012/01/05/when-i-grow-up/

    • January 31, 2012 9:45 pm

      At the very least, a Freshly Pressed promotional calendar, right? I love that Apple marketing campaign by the way.

  5. January 31, 2012 5:59 pm

    Hot dog!!! So much exciting stuff happened while we were MIA. Congrats! I think it is so cool!! I also have some of Patrick’s work shirts that could use a fresh press with an iron when you get a sec… Grimace for POTUS!!!

    • January 31, 2012 9:47 pm

      Thanks! But I was thinking of Grimace for more like Secretary of State. Mayor McCheese could always choose him as his running mate as a consolation prize.

  6. January 31, 2012 6:06 pm

    Oh god Angie you are so funny! Thanks to the freshly pressed fairy, mine was named Erica, I was intriduced to you and your absolutely hilarious blog. I can say without a doubt it is the funniest blog I have ever read and I am totally obsessed. Without important life altering programs like freshly pressed in our country how would two completely different bloggers such as ourselves meet on this crazy mixed up interwebs??? I saw sandy bullocks in the net and I was scared. I am still riding high off my freshly pressed debut so much that I have barely posted! Probably not the best strategy. Love mc

    • January 31, 2012 9:53 pm

      Thanks a mil, MC. I think someday we’ll have to cross paths so we can download on the useless pop culture matter that clogs our brains. I do think you need to get back to the things that really matter with your blog. That being in-depth analysis of Murder She Wrote. I never really realized that suede found its post-70s comeback on Murder She Wrote until I read your recent post.

  7. January 31, 2012 6:15 pm

    Love it!

  8. January 31, 2012 6:24 pm

    Glad you were hit by the WordPress bolt of lightening so I could find you. And yes, I did watch that 3s Company spin off. I always liked the girlfriend’s hair.

    • January 31, 2012 9:56 pm

      I tried to once accomplish a similar Dorothy-Hamill-meets-Sally-Forth swoopy bob and failed miserably. I also loved her stewardess-esque frocks.

  9. January 31, 2012 6:24 pm

    Sometimes luck happens to talented people. Maybe I should stop writing about poop.

    • January 31, 2012 10:02 pm

      Are you kidding me? Poop makes the world go round. Never give up on poop.

      Les, I think your cool-like-Fonzie factor puts you somewhere beyond the “I don’t care if I’m Freshly Pressed” cool clique. No, you’re more in the “What is Freshly Pressed?” level above that.

  10. January 31, 2012 6:26 pm

    Sis, you know I watched, remembered and enjoyed Three’s A Crowd. And that doofus, Fast Times Sean Penn clone was named EZ. Or Easy. And I even know what ‘lucrative’ means.

    Does that make me, like, one-in-a-million?

    • January 31, 2012 10:07 pm

      EZ/Easy! Yes, so you know. I’m not surprised. But did you know the same actor was also in Jake and the Fatman? No, I didn’t either until I searched for his picture to put in my blog post. Oh please don’t tell me you can’t remember Jake and the Fatman! It was practically the Second Coming of Riptide.

  11. January 31, 2012 6:34 pm

    Dear Angie,

    I love your blog. Don’t ever change it.

    Your BBFF,
    Speaker7

    PS: How can I get getsexsupplieshere to subscribe to my blog?
    PPS: Why don’t I have an recollection of that guy from “Three’s a Crowd” when I do have a recollection of watching that show?

    • January 31, 2012 10:10 pm

      EZ (Easy) was a character few can forget or remember. The role should’ve earned that actor an Emmy, if not a Golden Globe, if not an all-you-can-eat coupon for Denny’s Sunday buffet.

      Can you believe we’re already seniors?

      Your BBFF,
      Angie

  12. Lyssapants permalink
    January 31, 2012 7:07 pm

    So, I just need to make 80,000 blog posts to get FPed? I get it.
    Sooooo, really…who do I bribe?

    • January 31, 2012 10:13 pm

      No, really, it’s not as untouchable as you might think. You have to remember that a portion of those 80,000 include the blogs of folks like my new subscriber friend “getsexsupplieshere”.

  13. January 31, 2012 7:26 pm

    I am still in awe of you, your blog, your FP’d status and your ability to keep track of things that nobody else can (or is there a reason?). I will gladly participate in the hepatitis treatments should I ever get FP’d myself. HOwever, since I never write about anything that can benefit society, my chances are more like 1:80,000.000,000,000. Sad really.

    XX

    • January 31, 2012 10:23 pm

      “…ability to keep track of things that nobody else can” — or would want to, I’d add.

      Your post about the nutball litigious woman greatly benefited society.

      • February 1, 2012 6:31 am

        Perhaps, but nobody read it. It was an early piece. When I didn’t even have enough readers to qualify for a Liebster … the Award for Blogs Nobody Reads.

    • February 1, 2012 7:53 am

      Elyse, when you are Freshly Pressed, we will be there cheering you on. And ready with the shots.

      • February 1, 2012 8:53 pm

        Tequila.

      • February 1, 2012 8:55 pm

        Apparently, I just need to try harder. But do I have to eat the worm?

      • February 1, 2012 9:24 pm

        You have to chew it up and then spit in back into the shot glass, Del Rio-style.

  14. January 31, 2012 7:33 pm

    I’m pretty sure I found your blog through Freshly Pressed but I’m smart enough to check out a few posts before I click subscribe. And it has been well worth it. This post was so funny…and a bit depressing. Seriously, those are the odds?

    • January 31, 2012 10:26 pm

      Really, the odds are probably not that bad. I’m convinced that this figure includes the blogs that college kids have to create for their Marketing 101 finals.

  15. January 31, 2012 7:35 pm

    I might be one of the 80,000 people that think the national anthem should be Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go.

    • January 31, 2012 10:17 pm

      There is not a thing wrong with that. I also vote for electing the clothes worn on the video as our new national uniforms.

  16. January 31, 2012 8:06 pm

    I actually did click follow on your blog by accident…but now that I’ve got a few of your posts under my belt, I think I’ll keep you.

    • January 31, 2012 10:21 pm

      I will have to therefore guess that it was my acute recollection of Brady Bunch shenanigans that kept you holding on.

  17. February 1, 2012 1:46 am

    Congratulations, Angie! I think it is a very exciting achievement and appreciate hearing what it is like. I can only dream. By the way, you have a very cute cat. Is he a Norwegian Forest cat? Back to your writing, you are indeed the funniest blogger I’ve come across. You make me laugh out loud, not just smile.

    • February 1, 2012 8:54 pm

      Thanks so much, Amy. Matilda was found at a shelter and our vets tell us she is a Maine Coon. She is HUGE with hair jutting out of her toes and ears. She also acts almost nothing like a cat — I call her our resident Golden Retriever.

  18. Sarchasm2 permalink
    February 1, 2012 1:48 am

    Well done. To get freshly pressed is an achievement!

    • February 1, 2012 8:57 pm

      Thanks! I definitely don’t take it for granted, and it helped me find a bunch of new blog writers to connect with.

  19. February 1, 2012 7:51 am

    I think this post should be Freshly Pressed!

    Did I ever tell you that I love you? You know, only in a ‘we-met-through-random-blogs-and-don’t-really-know-each-other-in-real-life-but-we-have-Shaun-Cassidy-in-common’ sort of way.

    Those pictures with the captions killed me. I am still laughing!

    It’s like acknowledging you’re cool, like you care or something. Because if you do care that you’re cool, that right there makes you uncool.

    I am sooooooo uncool. You know I think my chances of being FP lately are slim to none. I’ve noticed a disturbing trend in my latest posts: they all have the word POOP in them and/or ASS. Oh, to be FP for poop one day is my fondest wish!! (although I was for a post on bathrooms once…ha!)

    • February 1, 2012 9:05 pm

      Thanks, Darla! I feel the same. But I only love you until I see 1979-Shaun Cassidy walking down the street and then I’d trip you and step on you as I’m crossing over to meet him.

      Poop and ass is Les at Best Bathroom Books’ forte, so I can prove there is a prejudice around here against poop and ass because he hasn’t gotten Freshly Pressed yet. I think it all comes down to censorship. Maybe some of us should protest and throw up some black banners across our blogs. Wait. Never mind.

  20. February 1, 2012 9:43 am

    Wait a minute…you didn’t get your tattoo yet? That big silver “W” that you’re now required to sport above your left hipbone? They won’t serve you down at the Freshly Pressed Methadone clinic without it. (Does that trick with the bricks really work? I’m asking for a friend.)

    • February 1, 2012 9:06 pm

      I’m so bummed. That explains the weird looks they gave me at the clinic today. But I’m glad you didn’t have any problems with getting in, Peg. Or, I mean, your friend.

  21. February 1, 2012 11:07 am

    I know some blogs actually display a plaque that says “Freshly UN-pressed” or something like that. I’d think it would be possibly addicting to be Freshly Pressed, but have no knowledge to base that on since I haven’t had it done to me. I do think the national anthem should be ‘Wake me up before you go-go’ to help people wake up whenever the national anthem is sung. :-D

    • February 1, 2012 9:08 pm

      You are the second person here to say you’d vote for that anthem change. I think my stat source is wrong on that 1 in 80,000. Great, I’m going to have to go back and refigure now.

  22. February 1, 2012 12:38 pm

    I’m a follower from your Freshly Pressed post and so glad that you were FP’d! Have so enjoyed your blog!

  23. February 1, 2012 2:59 pm

    Sooo, I have to admit that I secretly get a kick out of suscribing to blogs BEFORE they get freshly pressed. It’s kind of like being able to say I knew the (insert cool band name here) before they went viral.

    I admit it’s second hand glory compared to the alledged heroine rush of being freshlypressed, but heck I’ll take it ;)

    Usually those first fans stick around until the originally unknown thus edgy and cool band “sells out”. Just sayin’ ;)

    • February 1, 2012 9:16 pm

      Cousin Larry, don’t be ridiculous (my imitation of Balki Bartokomous)!

      Wait, K, you were a fan of the Backstreet Boys when they were still performing at malls? You are even cooler than I originally thought ;)

      P.S. By “selling out” I might someday write ad campaigns for Circus Peanuts.

      • February 2, 2012 4:39 am

        Hah! I didn’t even see that one coming (I guess I should have, right?!) – Okay so now I have to go change my shirt (literally!) because somehow the beige hue of my moccha doesn’t go to well with off-white of precious NKOTB Tshirt (okay it’s just a plain white T- whatever) – Good thing this is a “study day” and I can actually access my wardrobe freely ;)

  24. February 1, 2012 4:42 pm

    I’m with K above. What are the chances that everyone you know being Freshly Pressed after you visit their blog. I think I may have some talent scout blogging power. If I play my cards right, I could couch surf on the couches of bloggers all over the world who have purchsed multiple vacation homes with the money earned from their lucrative blogging careers.

    • February 1, 2012 9:19 pm

      I think the story wranglers at WordPress are all hooked on TheMiddlestSister (see above comments). I’m convinced that if you follow her, you’re in like Flynn!

      Is there such thing as lucrative blogging careers? Really? Sign me up!

      • February 1, 2012 10:17 pm

        I followed her long before she was FP’d – I’m telling you I have super blogging talent scout powers.

        Is Flynn the name of the unidentified character?

      • February 2, 2012 10:23 am

        Actually, his name was EZ. And I do believe you have those talent-sniffing powers — it takes one to know one, and I mean that sincerely.

  25. February 2, 2012 12:32 pm

    That is super fantastic Angie! Of course the recognize talent when they see it. Guess I should pop over to the WP pages more often and check out their recommendations so that I may see your name up in lights! Woot woot!

  26. February 2, 2012 8:07 pm

    I am going to follow you because one of your notes was signed “Stay cool.” I miss the 80’s.

  27. February 2, 2012 8:22 pm

    I had no idea you got Freshly Pressed. Congrats! If you don’t mind, I’ll just start copying all of your posts and passing them off as my own in hopes that I can experience the FP high, too.

    • February 3, 2012 8:23 pm

      Thanks, CC! Yeah, like I said, I hardly even noticed the Freshly Pressed thing myself ;)

  28. February 6, 2012 9:36 am

    I don’t even remember you being ‘Freshly Pressed’. I’m just here cause you’re funny.

  29. February 24, 2012 8:16 pm

    My husband and I were driving to visit my family when I whipped out my iPad and saw way more emails on my blog-related account than usual (all comments I needed to moderate). When I figured out what was going on, I screamed so loud my husband nearly ran the car off the road.

    After blogging in obscurity for months, I was now what I like to call “hot shit” (i.e. blogging in slightly less obscurity).

    Then of course, I spent the weekend around my family, none of whom knew what being Freshly Pressed meant and more importantly didn’t give a shit what Freshly Pressed meant. I tried explaining it and I could actually see my older brother’s eyes glaze over.

    Found you through speaker7.

    • February 25, 2012 3:58 pm

      Thanks for stopping by! I looked at your blog and loved your writing (you sold me with the alarm clock post), though I couldn’t seem to find your Freshly Pressed post. Indeed it is a bizarre phenomenon to be Freshly Pressed. Outsiders seem to either view it as Publishers Clearing House type of insanity or scoring a good parking spot at SuperTarget type of ordinary.

      • February 25, 2012 4:05 pm

        I”m going with Publisher’s Clearing House. My stats will never reach that again.

      • February 25, 2012 4:13 pm

        Hear, hear.

      • February 25, 2012 4:23 pm

        Thanks for stopping by Angie! My Freshly Pressed post was me whining about my job somewhat more eloquently than usual. It was called “My Parachute is the Color of Apathy” if you want to read it in your probably non-existent free time.

        F.P. was quite the thrill, and I did find some great new blogs through comments, but things went back to normal on the old blog VERY quickly (like overnight!). It’s very much 15 minutes of fame, if even that (since nobody outside WordPress gives a crap).

      • February 25, 2012 4:41 pm

        I know Blogging for Friends 101 would say not to provide links to your posts within comments, but I give you written permission to do so. Searching “apathy” on your blog has brought me nothing but Kermit (and there’s nothing apathetic about him).

  30. February 25, 2012 8:35 pm

    Huh. I had trouble searching for it too. Whoops. The internet is a mystery. I need to learn how to make web pages so I can make a cute little button or something to pimp my FP post.

    Here’s a link: http://logyexpress.com/2011/08/18/my-parachute-is-the-color-of-apathy/

  31. March 24, 2012 12:50 pm

    I got Freshly Pressed in December. What made my 15 minutes even wilder was that I had a separate post go viral the day before. As in more viral than even Freshly Pressed. My blog stats were amazing. But now I find myself bummed to pick up only one or two new readers a day. Which is ridiculous considering the likelihood of my having never been read at all. You’d think I’d be happy. Instead, I find myself seeking more Freshly Pressed crack – wondering if I’ll win the blogging lottery again. Ah, well. Thanks for this post. Made me laugh.

    • March 24, 2012 1:01 pm

      Wow! You went viral! That’s so impressive. Your blog offers genuine, make-a-difference perspective (unlike my fluff blog about 1980s nostalgia stuff) so at least you can feel your 15 minutes of fame actually mattered. It’s sometimes hard to be wholly satisfied with great happenings. Thanks for reading!

      • March 24, 2012 1:05 pm

        Fluff blogs make a difference too. My very wise AP English teacher (during the 80s!) once said to me, “Sometimes one’s soul needs The Color Purple. Then again, sometimes your soul needs The Cosby Show.” Wise words indeed. Keep up the great writing!

      • March 25, 2012 8:11 pm

        Very wise teacher indeed. Sounds like my AP English teacher who had us watch parts of A Christmas Story for the expressive writing that it features.

  32. July 11, 2012 7:00 pm

    I know I’m really late to the party, but this post hit home. I’m just recovering from my Freshly Pressed bender and I toyed with the idea of writing a post about the experience. Now I’m feeling extra inspired. And now, I’ll go back to my blog, where I’m sure I’ll be back to 10 hits a day in no time. :)

    • July 12, 2012 10:28 am

      There’s no such thing as being late to the party — there’s always (slightly skunky) cold beer in my fridge. Do write a post about being Freshly Pressed. It’s quite the phenomenon and definitely merits a blog post. Congratulations!

  33. January 14, 2013 11:02 pm

    I created my blog and in 4 days was freshly pressed. Go figure =)

Trackbacks

  1. Freshly Pressed Love | Ramblings of a Misguided Blonde
  2. thoughts on meat-eating | ginger-snapped

Comment. All the cool kids do.

