Skip to content

The Scientific Method

February 2, 2012

I read in a WordPress news update that reblogging is back.  And since I don’t eat pork, I thought this was way more exciting than hearing news that McRib is back.  Though slightly less exciting than when I heard that disco is back.

(Turns out the last one was a false alarm.  Fortunately, I can still do the Hustle alone at home to my Bee Gees albums.  Unfortunately, I can’t return the frosted teal eye shadow.)

I’ve been wanting to promote The Middlest Sister on my blog for some time now.   Amazing, talent up the ying-yang and laugh-out-loud-funny.  Plus, if you don’t have the time to read blogs, this one practically reads itself (if that even means anything).  Although, don’t hustle through it too quickly (for one, the Hustle is not back).  It’s the tiny details in her work that are the best part.  And you need to linger a bit to catch those.

I thought about asking Nicki to do a guest post for my blog.  But if you knew how long she spends on just a single frame of a single post, you would know that this would be like me asking her to give me a kidney or something.

I urge you to not only check out this newest post but to subscribe to her blog.  It’s like getting a little dose of happy in your inbox every week.  Sometimes twice a week.  The frequency really all depends on whether Nicki’s scissor elbow is acting up.

Important to note, Nicki (the blog creator) is not the middlest sister.  She’s the oldest sister.  Chrissy, the blonde, is the middlest and apparently the one whose childhood antics made her most worthy of being the featured attraction.  You can see for yourself why.  She reminds me of a certain bratass kid I knew once.  Yeah, that’s right.  Me.

Enjoy.

The Middlest Sister

Chrissy prepares the ingredients for her magic elixer.

"What cha doin'?"

"I don't want to go to school today, so I'm mixing up this concoction to make me barf. Then Mom will think I'm sick!"

"Interesting! The acid in the orange juice denatures the protein in the milk causing it to curdle almost instantly. Only the strongest stomach could drink it. Very clever!"

"Um, yeah. Actually, I just mixed it up one day and noticed it smelled like puke. I've been saving it for a rainy day."

The most disgusting drink in the world.

"Ewww!"

Chrissy turns green

Chrissy immediately pukes

"Wait, why would anybody want to miss school?"

Seriously, don’t drink a chocolate milk and orange juice cocktail.

View original post

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 2:49 pm

    I shall check her out. And disco IS back. It’s called Lady Gaga.

    • February 3, 2012 8:11 pm

      Who’s Lady Gaga? Did she do back up vocals for KC and the Sunshine Band?

  2. February 2, 2012 2:51 pm

    Thanks for the reblog! This is the best reblog anyone’s ever done for me. Your super nice comments have made my day. And you even spelled “Nicki” without two k’s. It is actually physically paining me to type this right now because I have been playing ukulele nonstop all week and my fingers are blistered, cracked and bleeding, but I had to let you know how happy I am to get such a nice write-up.

    • February 3, 2012 8:13 pm

      You’re so welcome, Nicki! I hope it sent you some traffic and subscribers. Unfortunately, I think a good portion of my readers were already fans of yours to begin with. So I don’t know how much I helped. I so love your blog!

      P.S. Those ukuleles have been known to kill people.

  3. February 2, 2012 3:05 pm

    You both have great blogs that I look forward to. And I do wish disco were back, if only so my kids would beg me to stop practicing my moves while cooking dinner.

    • February 3, 2012 8:15 pm

      Thank you, MM. I have to get over to your blog soon. I love, love, love the banner on your page.

  4. February 2, 2012 3:24 pm

    Thanks for introducing me to Nicki. Well, you didn’t really introduce us. You were just chatting to both of us at the same blog party, and we stood around all kinda awkward because we hadn’t been introduced, so we both said “Hi, I’m..” at the same time, then laughed and the ice was broken. Soon we’ll be having slumber parties that you won’t find out about until later, but that’s drama for another day.

    But thanks for introducing me to her work – mad, mad skills there!

    • February 3, 2012 8:16 pm

      That is so very Marcia Brady of you, Peg. I hope Bobby, Peter and Greg put itching powder in your sleeping bags.

  5. Amy D. permalink
    February 5, 2012 10:10 am

    Thanks for sharing, Angie! I love The Middlest Sister (as the oldest in my family, I would say our middlest provided the best fodder for family hysteria, too :)).

    • February 5, 2012 6:05 pm

      I’m glad you liked her blog, Amy! It truly is like a little slice of joy to get in your inbox every week. Enjoy!

  6. Emily permalink
    February 6, 2012 12:07 pm

    That blog is awesome–for the minimalist wit of the writing, for the masterful use of collage, and for the way your friend combines them so skillfully to recreate the funny little “slices of life” from her childhood. I wasn’t a middle kid (firstborn here), but I can see from reading that blog how middle children always seem to get the short end of the stick.

    • February 6, 2012 5:09 pm

      I know, isn’t she the greatest? I absolutely love her blog.

Comment. All the cool kids do.

