Skip to content

Because nobody likes a baby…

March 5, 2012

I’ve been known to be competitive.  I fondly remember a game of tag I played with my much younger cousin.  I was “It”.  Soon after, she ran inside crying and told her parents I had hit her.  Of course I didn’t hit her.  I’m just that good at tag.

So there’s this other game of tag circulating.  It’s sort of like a get-to-know-you chain letter.  You might recall these things were once forwarded through email, back when people actually used email.  Then these same things migrated over to Facebook where I thought they had died.  Well, it seems we within the WordPress blogosphere are not immune.  Because my favorite blogger Speaker7, just tagged me.  (Et tu, Brute?)  I about started to cry and thought about running to tell my parents.  But then I decided to just go with it since nobody likes a baby.

So for those playing, here are the rules:

1.)  You must post the rules.
2.)  Answer the questions the tagger set for you in their post and then create eleven new questions to ask the people you’ve tagged.
3.)  Tag eleven people and link to them on your post.
4.)  Let them know you’ve tagged them.

My questions from Speaker7:

1.)  Which member of the Backstreet Boys are you most like?

Since the Backstreet Boys came out after my era of teen idol worshipping, I have only a vague memory of the members of that band.  I’d say I’m most like whichever one sported the least amount of hair gel.

2.)  What did Bruce Jenner do to his face?

I think the question should be, “What didn’t he do to his face?”  Or better yet, “What does he still have left to do to his face?”  And that answer would be “tattooed eyeliner”.

3.)  Please explain what a Kim Kardashian is and why anyone would know what a Kim Kardashian is?

I don’t have cable TV, so I can only guess what a Kim Kardashian is.  In a past blog post, I surmised that a Kardashian was a tacky, foul-smelling flower purchased for prom dates to demonstrate their stance against teen abstinence.  

4.)  How doomed are we?

In college, I had an emphasis in Philosophy.  According to what I learned, the average lifespan of an empire is about 250 years.  And then my Philosophy instructor Dr. Martin would point out that the final days of the Roman Empire included women having sex with donkeys for public entertainment.  So based on these historical references, I would answer “start building your bunker”.

5.)  Is Ryan Seacrest a robot or is he something less artificial?

Taking note of his large protruding brow bone, my theory is that Ryan Seacrest was frozen in a tar pit thousands of years ago while out hunting Woolly Mammoths.  In 2002, he was unfrozen by a special team of television producers to replace Dick Clark.  (See also Unfrozen Caveman Lawyer.)

6.)  Why isn’t Rush Limbaugh kicked in the nuts daily?

Because I don’t live close enough to his home in Palm Beach, Florida.

7.)  Which religion is correct?

Whichever religion sides against the Westboro Baptist Church.

8.)  Can you think of someone who is worse than the current slate of Republican presidential candidates?

Yes.  I’ve long felt (and expressed here) that Mayor McCheese is our country’s best hope for the future.  So, based on his impressive candidacy, I would expect the worst candidate would be Mayor McCheese’s polar opposite — the Hamburglar.  There’s something about him I don’t trust.

9.)  Why do people enjoy the book Twilight?

Because of its wholesome metaphor for abstinence.  I love you so much and that’s why I can’t succumb to my primal urge to bite you.”  That and people enjoy angst.

10.)  What’s up?

A tiny piece of the orthodontics reinforcement contraption that’s permanently glued behind my teeth just popped out and now I feel a piercing sharp wire rubbing against my tongue every time I talk, chew or swallow.  Other than that, not much. 

11.)  How many Academy Awards will Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance win?

I would expect it’ll win about as many awards as Freddy Got Fingered received.  But I may be overshooting that a bit.

***

Okay, so rather than tag 11 people who might start crying and tell their parents, I’ll keep things painless.  If you have read my blog the past week, consider yourself tagged.  If you don’t want to play, pretend that this is the first time we’ve met.  Hello?  Come here often?  No.  And I’ll never say another word about it.

Here are my questions, should you choose to play: 

(You may post your answers on your own blog or answer in the comment section below.)

1.)  Worst piece of high school uniform:  The white vinyl marching band shoes or the polyester gym teacher pants?

2.)  What is one word that is always awkward for you to spell?  (Akward?  Awkword?)

3.)  Poison or Motley Crue?  (I refuse to accept “neither”.)

4.)  What old TV theme song will be burned in your brain for all of eternity?

5.)  Who shot J.R. Ewing?

6.)  In 10,000 years when archaeologists study our civilization, how will they interpret this?

7.)  Whatever happened to the Bradys’ cat Fluffy?   

8.)  If the Bradfords think Eight is Enough, what is up with the Duggars?

9.)  Leather, a mullet and the color turquoise.  Who wore it better?  MacGyver . . .

. . . or John Stamos?

10.)  If nutrition did not matter, what processed breakfast cereal would you eat every morning for the rest of your life?

11.)  If Train A leaves the station at 6:00 P.M. traveling west at 80 mph, and Train B leaves the same station 3 hours later traveling west at 100 mph and if we cannot correctly answer this question, what is the probability that we will succeed at microwaving enough bowls of Ramen noodles to sustain ourselves through five years of college?

82 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2012 3:22 pm

    Wow! I’m so glad I just found your blog. It’s great. I might even subscribe :)

  2. March 5, 2012 3:32 pm

    9) Best leather and mullet pairing: Pikachu

    Maybe your cousin should have specified beforehand that it was touch Tag, and not tackle.

    • March 5, 2012 4:35 pm

      I would like to see Pikachu with a mullet. That would make him seem more like a classy American and of our kind.

  3. skynyrdgyrl81 permalink
    March 5, 2012 4:02 pm

    1. Gym teacher pants. However my gym teacher had shorts with “Defense” emblazoned across the backside. I believe this was an early pre-cursor to the “Juicy” trend.
    2. Recieve. Receive. Wait, wait. It’s I before E except after C. Got it.
    3. Motley Crue. I just read “The Dirt” for a second time so I’m super obsessed again.
    4. You take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and there you have The Facts of Life, The Facts of Life. P.S. Did you know Alan Thicke wrote that song? For reals yo.
    5. Kristin Shepard. I believe she was trying to impress Jodie Foster.
    6. That unicorns pooped this seizure inducing goodness.
    7. Cousin Oliver took him out due to the cat getting more screen time.
    8. Michelle Duggar never dated John Travolta.
    9.John Stamos. Umm hello, MacGyver never played with The Beach Boys.
    10. Count Chocula. But Frakenberry can stick it.
    11. I didn’t go to college so I’m opting out of this question.

    • March 5, 2012 4:33 pm

      You have really, really set the bar high. I mean, seriously high.

      Those shorts probably had the same snaps up the front as the pants did. I think my teacher’s had the brand “Bike” printed on his.

      Alan Thicke — you just blew my mind. I did know he was a songwriter but didn’t realize he was capable of creating such a musical masterpiece.

      How did you know that Diana Hyland was on Eight is Enough? What are you, some kind of pop culture historian? Who are you and why are you not on staff at my blog?

      • skynyrdgyrl81 permalink
        March 5, 2012 4:47 pm

        “Bike” shorts. Ha! Those were such gym teacher shorts. I preferred my Umbro’s with my Adidas Gazelle’s. I was so stylin’ in ’94.

        I know I can’t believe Jason Frickin Seaver wrote the greatest musical opus of all time. I mean that’s up there with “FreeBird” in my book.

        I wouldn’t say I’m a pop culture historian. I would say I was grounded a lot as a teenager. Lots of reading time.

  4. March 5, 2012 4:03 pm

    We are taking the chain letter challenge later this week! Because no one like babies… or people who only talk about babies.

    • March 5, 2012 4:36 pm

      I like people who talk about babies while they’re expecting. But if you must stop talking about babies for a little while, so be it.

  5. March 5, 2012 6:35 pm

    I was tagged by Speaker7 too, so I have to answer her questions sometime after everyone reads your much funnier answers.

    Besides, I am too old to understand your questions.

    • March 5, 2012 7:21 pm

      Hey, I blew the dust off that The Brady Bunch question and threw it in there. Does that not mean anything to you old timers?

  6. Emily Liston permalink
    March 5, 2012 7:24 pm

    How fun!

    1. Gosh, I don’t think we had a marching band. But for those lucky enough, I choose the boots.
    2. Weiner?
    3. Mötley crüe!
    4. Believe it or not I’m walking on air, never thought I could feel so free-eee-eee. Flyin away on a wing and a prayer, who could it be? Believe it or not, it’s just me.
    5. I wasn’t allowed to stay up to watch Dallas, so I still have no idea. Can’t even hazard a guess. (maybe i’ll find out in GCB.)
    6. As the last scramble before extinction?
    7. lost his fur and got a gig on Friends many years later?
    8. Also a last scramble to avoid extinction? (glad I have an answer that works for 2 questions, I’m running out of steam here.)
    9. MacGyver, just because he looks like a guy. That picture of John Stamos is a little girly. (Though, if I were being true to my eighties/early nineties self, I would have picked Stamos.)
    10. Reese’s Puffs
    11. Chances are quite good. The price is right on ramen noodles.

    • March 5, 2012 7:49 pm

      Loved this! Yes, yes, yes to your answer on #4. Oh, how many times I wanted to do a post on Greatest American Hero (“But no one will even remember it,” said the tiny 1982-Angie who sits on my shoulder). That must be the best TV theme song ever created in the history of TV theme songs. Also, best curly ‘do ever spotted on a Caucasian male.

      Well played on #6 and #8. What a deep thinker you are. I give bonus points for that.

  7. March 5, 2012 7:45 pm

    I don’t think that the dust is on the question, but on the listener. Although I just checked out the dates of The Brady Bunch and was shocked to see that it was on while I was in junior high and high school. But that of course was also when that other show the Vietnam War was on and I watched that on TV every night. When I wasn’t taking over buildings and doing drugs.

    • March 5, 2012 7:51 pm

      You would’ve been in good company while hanging out with the Brady Bunch. Greg was also off taking over buildings and doing drugs.

  8. March 5, 2012 7:51 pm

    1) The white vinyl marching band shoes because I wore them. I wore them while I marched with a trumpet and a plume sprouting from my can hat.

    2)initiativeitivieintiaition

    3.) Totally Poison because Rock of Love was the greatest reality show of all time

    4.) Good times because keeping your head above water nothing dowah in your dant (I could never figure out what that line said.)

    5.) Oliver from Brady Bunch?

    6.) Silicone, plastic and ding dongs

    7.) Cousin Oliver put a firecracker in its butt?

    8.) Lobotomies?

    9.) I have to go with MacGyver because he made his mullet out of chewing gum and a tube sock.

    10.) Lucky Charms

    11) Synergy

    • March 5, 2012 7:56 pm

      As I read along through your answers I thought they were pretty damn laugh-out-loud funny (as to be expected), but once I got to #9 I laughed so hard I seizured and then blacked out for a moment and now I can’t remember much of anything, including whether my name is Angie, Oliver or Awkward.

  9. March 5, 2012 8:44 pm

    Speaker7 tagged me too, but I like your questions as well, so let me answer them from the Woodstock generation (notquiteold) point of view:

    1. gym teacher pants. Mr.V wore them right up to the armpits. (and he asked my girlfriend out.)
    2.embarrass and vaccuummm
    3. The Dave Clark Five
    4. Come and listen to my story ’bout a man named Jed, a poor mountaineer barely kept his family fed.
    5. Bing’s cross-eyed daughter.
    6. As the code that deciphers Joyce’s “Ulysses”
    7. Rin Tin TIn was vicious.
    8. Marilyn Chambers could change their lives.
    9. Little Joe
    10. No microwaves. I ironed bread for toasted peanut butter sandwiches.

    • March 6, 2012 8:25 pm

      I love the Woodstock point of view!

      You will have to translate #5 for me. Is that Bing as in Bing Crosby? Wow, I guess now I know how it feels to be in the dark on pop culture references. Although, I have to say that bad gym teacher pants crosses all generational divides.

      Little Joe! I love him.

      You skipped your favorite breakfast cereal. I assume because you don’t want to admit your secret love for frosted flakes.

      • March 6, 2012 8:31 pm

        Mary Frances Crosby is the daughter of Bing Crosby. She played Kristin Shepard on Dallas and she shot JR. She is a tad cross-eyed, but I guess I shouldn’t have pointed that out. I didn’t intend to hurt her feelings.

      • March 6, 2012 8:41 pm

        GET OUT! I love that kind of mind-blowing trivia. I will remember it for the rest of my life, I mean it. You’ve changed me.

      • March 6, 2012 8:33 pm

        And yeah, frosted flakes. There weren’t a lot of choices in the 50’s.

      • March 6, 2012 8:42 pm

        What more do you need if you have frosted flakes?

  10. Emily permalink
    March 5, 2012 9:14 pm

    My favourite junky breakfast cereal is Cocoa Krispies (or whatever regional fascimile is available–that’d be Coco Pops in Australia), and the worst thing I had to wear for school was my itchy “blackwatch plaid” blazer for junior band in grades 9-10. Seniors (technically grades 11-OAC, but I joined senior band at the end of grade nine) got red blazers, which were much nicer, so I was fine with that. As for the Brady Bunch, I agree that Oliver was annoying, and Fluffy was pretty irrelevant after the first episode, but whatever happened to Tiger? Most of those other “pop culture” references completely elude me, but I am a huge fan of the work of Ani Difranco, so if you asked me about her, I’d probably be able to answer. Anyway, I just have one question of my own:

    Remember the first episode of Full House, where Stephanie and D.J. had to move into a room together, since Stephanie’s old room was given to Uncle Jesse? Well, as the series moved on, Joey moved into the renovated garage, and Jesse moved into the attic apartment, so why were D.J., Stephanie, and Michelle still sharing two rooms amongst the three of them, for the entire series? That never made any sense to me.

    • skynyrdgyrl81 permalink
      March 6, 2012 9:25 am

      Because they turned the garage into a recording studio/ work area when Joey and Uncle Jesse started writing jingles when they ventured into advertising. Joey moved into Uncle Jesse’s old room, thus the need for them to still share rooms. Plus the comedic effect.

      • Emily permalink
        March 6, 2012 2:55 pm

        Oh, right, how could I have missed that?

      • March 6, 2012 8:48 pm

        Brilliant. You are the master. I completely forgot about their jingles/advertising business. “Have mercy,” how in the world did I forget that side business thing?

    • March 6, 2012 8:31 pm

      Minus the itching, I would take a plaid blazer over white vinyl band shoes any day! In fact, that sounds quite fetching.

      I can only think of about two Brady episodes with Tiger: the one where Jan becomes allergic to him/his flea powder and the one where Jan (again with Jan!) plays a joke on her brothers by taking their pet mouse Myra (I think that’s its name). The mouse later turns up when they hear the sound of Tiger whining — he doesn’t want to go in his doghouse where the mouse is. Other than that and the first episode, Tiger was practically invisible. And, yes, I realize I didn’t need to go through all of this with you but I enjoyed doing so nonetheless.

      You stumped me on the Full House question! Phew, I’m so glad a fellow trivia junkie stepped in to answer that!

  11. Emily permalink
    March 5, 2012 9:31 pm

    P.S., I did attend university, but stopped eating ramen noodles after my first year, when I ate way too many of them. My first thought was “Great! Dinner for a week for about two dollars!!!”; but if something is made almost entirely of white flour, salt, and chemical additives, I can hardly call it “dinner,” can I?

    • March 6, 2012 8:35 pm

      I think my mistake with Ramen noodles was when I bought pork flavor. Huge Ramen blunder. Chicken and mushroom were the only ones I’d eat after that. I became quite the connoisseur.

      • Emily permalink
        March 6, 2012 9:12 pm

        I’ve been a vegetarian since I was 17, and a vegan since early last year, so I only ever ate the vegetable, mushroom, and Oriental flavours of ramen noodles when I was in university, but honestly, I didn’t see much difference between flavours–they all just tasted like noodles and salt to me. After the Great Ramen Obsession of 2003, there was this veritable membrane of salt in the back of my throat that I just couldn’t get rid of, so I refused to eat ramen noodles at all for many, many years after that. I had some “Mi Goreng” noodles while I was living in Australia, but those were different–they were less salty, and they had packets of real sauce, seasoning, and dried onions, so they were still unhealthy, but less “artificial.” Oh, and in the interest of full disclosure, I do like Pop-Tarts, like you do, but only the unfrosted kind.

      • March 6, 2012 9:22 pm

        My full disclosure: despite what I write in my blog, I eat really healthy now and rarely buy anything processed other than wheat crackers for my kids. I haven’t eaten Ramen or Pop-Tarts since 1999. But the more we talk about it, the more I need them. Now.

  12. March 6, 2012 12:42 am

    Nice answers. My first time here.

    • March 6, 2012 8:35 pm

      Welcome! I wonder by your blog name if you like poop? Thought so.

  13. March 6, 2012 1:00 am

    I would love to play but I’m English. Therefore, I can claim the following:

    1) I have no idea about half of these things of which you speak
    2) It’s not cricket. (Actually, that’s no bad thing)
    3) I would like for people to stop asking me if I like Harry Potter, have met the Queen and if the Beatles are my favourite band. (That’s no, no and no, btw)
    4) I’m tired and I’m going to bed.

    • March 6, 2012 8:39 pm

      1.) Bummer that you missed out on The Brady Bunch.
      2.) Cricket? What is it then?
      3.) Have you at least met Kate and William? Surely they at least had you over for tea?
      4.) But not before you tell me why you drive on the wrong side of the road.

      • March 7, 2012 1:09 am

        Never met Wills and Kate – I was six feet from his Dad though once and was pretty close to Prince Andrew and Sarah Ferguson when they left the palace on their wedding. Not a huge fan of the royals… I do like to tell people that God Save The Queen by the Sex Pistols was unofficially #1 in 1977 during the Queen’s silver jubilee. However, those pesky people at Gallup lied and didn’t count record sales from certain stores that week, just so something more appropriate could officially be #1 instead.

      • March 7, 2012 9:56 pm

        You are a treasure trove of knowledge!

  14. March 6, 2012 5:23 am

    1.) Gym teacher pants

    2.) Sandwich (sandwhich)

    3.) Poison (but I wish White Snake had been a choice)

    4.) Brady Bunch

    5.) I don’t remember.

    6.) Packing list for an emergency evacuation

    7.) I forgot they even had a cat.

    8.) Good question!

    9.) MacGyver

    10.) Honeycombs

    11.) Do we have enough Tab to wash it down?

    • March 6, 2012 8:54 pm

      1.) Aw, White Snake! Great choice, Amy. I think I had trouble getting into that band because the front singer always looked — dare I say it since he was probably my current age — well, old. Sorta like Mick from Motley Crue.

      6.) I had a link there that I think most people missed. It was a freaky picture of Pokemon. You did yourself a favor by not clicking on it. I’m scarred.

      7.) EXACTLY!

      10.) Now I need to look up that old commercial on youtube.

  15. March 6, 2012 9:11 am

    Where am I?

    • March 6, 2012 8:55 pm

      Do I know you? You must’ve been looking for a blog on Full House. I can see where you might’ve been confused as there was some very deep Full House analysis going on in the comments above.

      • John-Paul permalink
        March 7, 2012 11:37 am

        “Where am I?” this is what the girl said when she regained consciousness after being “tagged” by Angie all those years ago. Yes, tag is a contact sport, but no, it’s not like ulitmate fighting.

      • March 7, 2012 9:55 pm

        Maybe I could’ve just asked her to wear padding?

  16. March 6, 2012 12:45 pm

    Gosh, Angie. If only we both lived near Rush, we could give him a tag-team nut-kicking! yeeeehaw!

    • March 6, 2012 8:57 pm

      We’ll fly to Florida and then follow up on that adventure by stalking Sean Cassidy’s California estate. You down?

      • March 7, 2012 7:59 pm

        I am so down. Da doo ron ron!!!!

      • March 7, 2012 8:01 pm

        Ummmmmm. Sean Cassidy’s California estate is in Florida? Is that even allowed? They are way different. California has movie stars. Florida has handicapped parking spots. I don’t think they are allowed to mix.

      • March 7, 2012 8:05 pm

        Hey, in Cassidy’s world, anything is possible, Elyse.

        (I met her on a Sunday and my heart stood still…..)

      • March 7, 2012 8:16 pm

        I think that my comment was actually a totally non-sensical one. It made sense until I hit the “Post Comment” button. Then I realized that you guys were going to go to Florida and THEN to Sean’s house in California.

        Apparently I was so hurt at not being invited (OK, so at my age I’d have to be the chaperone) that I was momentarily blinded to all logic.

      • March 7, 2012 8:23 pm

        Happens to me all the time. I was initially confused by Angie’s reply, then even more befuddled by yours. Just a typical day in the life of Darla.

      • March 7, 2012 8:24 pm

        Good job faking it, Darla. Good Job!

      • March 7, 2012 8:47 pm

        Exactly what kind of conversation did I just walk into here?

      • March 8, 2012 6:10 am

        We are simply seeing who can take it off on another tangent — Darla, I think it’s your turn.

      • March 10, 2012 8:44 pm

        I love tangents. You can take off on a tangent around here any time.

      • March 10, 2012 8:51 pm

        A tangent is a type of airplane, right? Or some sort of geometric figure. I can never keep this stuff straight.

      • March 7, 2012 8:53 pm

        I was trying to earn some frequent flyers miles. You’re invited, Elyse! Maybe we could swing by the tomb of Rudolph Valentino?

        Totally kidding! See, you bring out the scrapper in me.

      • March 7, 2012 8:30 pm

        I couldn’t fake it if I tried.

        …wait….what were we talking about again?

      • March 7, 2012 8:46 pm

        Um, do I know you? Uncle Leo?

      • March 8, 2012 10:28 am

        Step aside please, step aside. I believe I may be of assistance here. I did my post-doctoral work in tangential.

        So, exactly what about Reese’s Easter Eggs did Valentino love most?

      • March 10, 2012 8:45 pm

        Wow, you’re good, Peg. I don’t even remember what we were talking about. That’s the mark of a true tangenteer.

      • March 11, 2012 9:32 am

        Which is just like a Mouseketeer, but without the ears.

      • March 17, 2012 9:22 pm

        Exactly. And without extremely chesty girls named Annette. Or named Angie for that matter.

  17. mark permalink
    March 6, 2012 4:51 pm

    1.) Worst piece of high school uniform: The white vinyl marching band shoes or the polyester gym teacher pants? > I’ll go with an unnamed third option of the atomic wedgie that one received from said gym teacher after showing up for dodge ball wearing said white vinyl band shoes.

    2.) What is one word that is always awkward for you to spell? I’ll go with Polish/polish. I remember seeing an ad for a “Polish maid” and wasn’t sure if they needed the ethnicity or just a really, really specific kind of maid for just polishing crap. Since then, it’s been awkward to write and read that word, which hurts because I’m part Polish.

    3.) Poison or Motley Crue? > Mötley Crüe, but only if you make proper use of the German “rock dots” in the spelling.

    4.) What old TV theme song will be burned in your brain for all of eternity? > Cheers

    5.) Who shot J.R. Ewing? > The person who invented “Sweeps Week”

    6.) In 10,000 years when archaeologists study our civilization, how will they interpret this? > As our “Jump the Shark” moment

    7.) Whatever happened to the Bradys’ cat Fluffy? > That sounds made up…

    8.) If the Bradfords think Eight is Enough, what is up with the Duggars? > The Duggars are “Just the Ten of Us” (also an oddly religious family) meets the “Eight is Enough” clan…and has unprotected sex Biblical style…whatever that means…

    9.) Leather, a mullet and the color turquoise. Who wore it better? > MacGuyver could probably have taken the Olson Twins and made them into a machine gun so I’ll say him. PS – if MacGuyver and Stamos had a baby, it would probably be Cousin Joey from Full House (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t5BGpmw0MTE)

    10.) If nutrition did not matter, what processed breakfast cereal would you eat every morning for the rest of your life? > Cookie Crisp. Our mom bought that for us once but not twice.

    11.) If Train A leaves the station at 6:00 P.M. traveling west at 80 mph, and Train B leaves the same station 3 hours later traveling west at 100 mph and if we cannot correctly answer this question, what is the probability that we will succeed at microwaving enough bowls of Ramen noodles to sustain ourselves through five years of college? > Do college kids even know the Ramen days anymore or do they only know hot pocket days? And what are the “Salad Days” that Nicholas Cage’s character speaks of on Raising Arizona? I’m hungry. I’d better make something before that train gets here.

    • March 6, 2012 8:59 pm

      Wow, this is all so very weird. I had the exact same answers to all my own questions. I wrote them all down on a scrap of paper that I sprayed with perfume and then put it under my pillow so I could dream about those answers. And now here we are.

      Will you marry me?

  18. Emily permalink
    March 6, 2012 9:23 pm

    Okay, I have another question–for everyone who went to college or university before I did (I started my first year at Bishop’s University in 2003), is the whole “healthy fast food” phenomenon on college/university campuses a new thing? As long as I can remember, I’ve been able to get some form of at least moderately healthy food at uni–subs, pitas, veggie burgers, stir-fry, sushi, fruit, smoothies, whatever. Not all of these places were open at convenient times (and, when I was at Western, the food outlet near the art building would always seem to close down “to serve you better” on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons during the small window of time I had to grab some food between painting class and wind ensemble), but it was very rarely a situation of “junk or nothing,” and most people I knew chose healthy food whenever possible, even when it cost more. So, why the stereotype of college/uni students eating nothing but crap?

    • March 6, 2012 9:34 pm

      Good question. I think my idea of health in college was buying some kind of dehydrated Lipton noodles and mixing them with a jar of something that looked like mayonnaise. The health awareness thing was less fashionable. I can’t recall too many of my friends circa 1995 noshing on smoothies and stir fry. More like milkshakes and hamburgers topped with onion rings. I’m pretty sure I had no idea what brown rice was until 10 years ago.

  19. Emily permalink
    March 6, 2012 10:14 pm

    Oh, don’t get me wrong–people still ate junky food (pizza, McDonald’s, alcohol, various hangover foods, “instant” foods like Kraft Dinner/ramen/Lipton’s Sidekicks), but the way some people talk, you’d think we ONLY ate junk, when that simply wasn’t true. A lot of people I knew (including myself) did the junk thing for a while, and then got sick of it. Also, I know that, at Western (and, to some extent, at Bishop’s, but not quite as much), it was considered cool to go to the gym. What was your experience with that?

    • March 7, 2012 9:13 pm

      I must’ve hung out with some real slackers as I have no memory of gyms being a part of my college experience. A lot of sitting around watching the Ricki Lake Show and eating crap. Wow, good times. My parents must’ve been so proud.

  20. Emily permalink
    March 7, 2012 2:31 pm

    P.S., I’m sorry for the “Full House” hijack–I saw John Stamos, and immediately thought of Uncle Jesse.

    • March 7, 2012 9:18 pm

      Are you kidding me? I consider it an honor when someone hijacks my blog to facilitate a flashback or two. I’m pissed it doesn’t happen more often. In fact, please promise me you’ll do it again but next time with Perfect Strangers. I’m an embarrassing failure when it comes to Full House trivia.

  21. March 7, 2012 3:38 pm

    Oh, you were so good to play..I pretended I was sick and went home early…I can’t keeep up!

    Back Street Who??

    and by the way, thank you for sending Shannon my way! :)

    • March 7, 2012 9:19 pm

      I knew Shannon would dig your photography. She’s good people.

  22. Emily permalink
    March 7, 2012 10:29 pm

    I don’t know Perfect Strangers…….and, don’t get me wrong, we had our share of “sedentary time” in university too–when I was at Bishop’s, we’d all gather around to watch Gilmore Girls, The O.C., Family Guy, Desperate Housewives, Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, and countless other shows, but there was a time for passive watching, and a time to be active. Actually, the “active thing” was bigger at Western–the cardio room at the gym there was always packed, and yoga was all the rage as well. There’d be a line of people waiting outside the studio to get a spot. Anyway, back to pop culture……we all remember Saved By The Bell, but who else remembers the short-lived sitcom, Hang Time, that was a lot like Saved By the Bell, but focused on the basketball team? It featured Julie, the typical Liberated Female, and the actor who played the coach was named Dick Butkus.

    • March 10, 2012 8:43 pm

      Hang Time sounds ever so slightly familiar. Yoga didn’t come around again until the end of my college years. And when it did, I thought, “You mean like that 70s lady in the leotard who used to sit cross-legged on that PBS show? People are doing that?” Don’t worry, I got into it soon enough.

  23. March 9, 2012 5:55 pm

    Bruce Jenner died a long time ago. His face actually exploded, leaving the Kardashians with a huge pile of face and swimmer fat in their living room.
    What to do?
    This was before the Kardashian girls gained their own notoriety, so intrepid young Kim (little known fact: expert in cybernetic engineering) rebuilt her stepfather with face bits, collagen, and that a healthy dollop of fake boob.
    Voila. Instant Jenner.

    • March 9, 2012 6:23 pm

      Marvelous, mahervolous. So good. You just did things I’ve never seen done before while explaining the wonder of Bruce Jenner’s face. You should appear on the Wheaties box for that feat.

      • March 9, 2012 10:59 pm

        Can you be on a Wheaties box if you’ve never had Wheaties? Michael Jordan, Bo Jackson, and me. The Trident of Power!

Trackbacks

  1. Stuck in the proverbial mud | Psychobabble

Comment. All the cool kids do.

