Skip to content

March 25, 2012

Let me start by saying that I’m not a fiction writer nor do I want to be one. But I’m darn honored to be a finalist in Peg-o-Leg’s first writing contest. The competition was fierce, I tell ya. Fierce! Take a gander at the six finalists and vote for whomever. I got a late start at voting and can see I’m already getting crushed. (Said the insecure amateur fiction writer.) No matter. May the best polyester plaid jacket win.

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

The finalists in The Jacket Writing Competition have been selected.

Boy, howdy this was tough!  I asked a distinguished panel of 3 judges to review the entries for me.  Our criteria was simple: we were looking for an interesting story, told well.  We had consensus on several of the entries, but were widely apart on others.   I debated having a top 10 list, but decided that many was too unwieldy.  In the end I had to resort to taking up strong drink to narrow the field to 6.

Entries are again presented in the order in which I received them.  The Polldaddy poll is below the last entry.  Please vote only once per day until the polls close next Friday, March 30th.

Thank you so much to all who submitted entries!  I hope you had fun – I know that I did.

**************************************************************

Name: She’s a Maineiac
Website: http://miraclemama.wordpress.com

Proceed Without Caution

“God,” he sighed…

View original post 2,054 more words

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 11:46 am

    I just voted for you. Your story had me at hemorrhoids.

    • March 25, 2012 11:49 am

      Aw, thanks! I try to insert “hemorrhoids” in a lot of conversations too. It tears down walls. That wasn’t an anatomical reference.

  2. March 25, 2012 11:59 am

    Addendum: It might make sense if I pointed out that the contest occurred after Peg-o-Leg bought a green plaid polyester jacket at a second-hand store. In the jacket pocket, she found a piece of paper with the name “Tom Wojciechowski” written on it. Peg asked that the writing submissions explain the story behind the jacket and why there was a name left in the pocket. I’m thinking, in 500 words or less.

    The winner gets a valuable prize! The jacket.

  3. March 25, 2012 1:20 pm

    I voted for you! I know this was fiction…but I actually know a couple of Mildreds…and now I’m wondering if your plunger idea would work.

    • March 25, 2012 4:00 pm

      Thanks so much. For obvious reasons, if you’ve read the book, I’ve loathed the name Mildred ever since I read Somerset Maugham’s Of Human Bondage.

  4. March 25, 2012 6:23 pm

    You’ve got my vote. :) Well deserving of every success!

  5. March 25, 2012 7:40 pm

    How exciting! Congratulations on this much deserved recognition!

  6. March 25, 2012 8:52 pm

    I just voted for you too… you’re currently in third but hopefully that’ll improve :)

    • March 25, 2012 8:58 pm

      I have no expectations of winning this, I just hoped I wouldn’t finish last. Thanks for your help toward that goal. :)

  7. March 25, 2012 10:44 pm

    i voted for darla from her post and now you today. you’re both the bestest.

  8. March 26, 2012 9:52 am

    I had the poll thingamabobby all messed up so people couldn’t vote more than once. Hopefully it’s fixed now. What do you want from me – I’m just a newby at this stuff???

Comment. All the cool kids do.

