Skip to content

What I Did on My Summer Vacation

August 6, 2012

My first day of kindergarten, marked by a new rainbow skate shirt and an Olive Oyl notebook.

Dear Special Readers,

My kids’ beloved preschool closed down for the month.  And in just two weeks my oldest will start kindergarten.

I’ll admit that I’m concerned she will soon be asked to report — What I Did on My Summer Vacation.

Back in the day, I know what I would’ve said.  I camped out under the stars.  I ate some chalk.  I dug a hole.   

I vow that my daughter will not report — I watched my mommy write her blog.

I’m taking a two-week bloggy vacation.  Starting today.  

But this place, this ol’ blog of mine, is a well-oiled machine — and I’m leaving it in good hands.

For your reading pleasure, I have lined up some talented bloggers who have  graciously agreed to write three posts reflecting their childhoods.

Next Monday, the hilarious Jessica (my long-lost British pen pal) will be stopping in to share another archived letter from our Dear Angie/Dear Jessica series.  I hope you’ll make her feel extra special while she’s visiting from Jessseeker, her blog across the Atlantic.

At the risk of seeming nationalistic  condescending  dumb, I confess I find her Brit-speak as adorable as freckles on Prince Harry.  Let’s cross our fingers that she’ll fly here by umbrella while dressed as Mary Poppins.

And then next Wednesday, the talented Speaker7 will be popping by to entertain you with her razor-sharp wit that can cut clear through a tin can and remain sharp enough to slice a tomato.

Speaker7 is near and dear to my heart.  She’s not only my funnier, more attractive Bizarro World Clone, but she’s also my Best Bloggy Friend Forever.  To prove it, we always wear our engraved BBFF necklaces that together form a perfect heart.  She accidentally lost her first necklace in a trash dumpster and then mistakenly sold the second one at a pawn shop.  I don’t recall what happened to the third one.  But no matter.  I went out and bought her a fourth one.  That’s just the kind of BBFF that I am.

But first, I’m excited to announce this week’s guest post.  It’s actually a two-part announcement.  Because not only will she be visiting you on Wednesday with a fabulous flashback on food, she also is (drumroll) . . .

. . . the newest winner of Dynomite!  Let’s give a nice round of applause for the infamous hydrangea-head herself, Rachel!

Rachel, you are Dynomite!  Enjoy your Flashback-in-a-Box!  I’m sure you’ll agree this is an awesome bunch of useless crap I found laying around my house.

In addition to a special autographed photo of 1987-Angie, Rachel’s won a hand-crafted, limited-edition origami fortune teller, a replica of one made in 1987-Angie’s 6th period study hall.

And I even checked to ensure it was in good working condition.

I offer my warmest appreciation to the other stellar Dynomite! contestants.  Lynnette, Heather, Shannon and Kim — you all rocked the block.  I raise my glass of Tang to the beauty that is you.

Our Dynomite! winner and upcoming guest blogger, Rachel, is a locavore who writes a scrumptious foodie blog called Rachel’s Table.  And who surprisingly looks totally normal today (even what modern-era kids call, “hot”).

I hope you’ll give her a friendly welcome when she visits on Wednesday.

Happy end-of-summer to all!

Your Friend in Flashbacks,

Angie Z.

52 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2012 5:55 am

    We’re ‘special readers’?

    Congrats to Rachel, her photo was pretty amazing. I never could get my hair to be as high as hers.

    I so look forward to the guest posts. I’m sure they’ll do your blog proud.

    Enjoy your break, eat some chalk for me! (I’ll miss you…sniff)

    Before you go, stop by my blog today for a special announcement that you already know about.

    • August 20, 2012 9:07 pm

      You are so special, Darla. You know that, right? Do I say it enough? I need to say it every day. I need to shout it from the rooftops. Instead I’ll just say, “buh, buh, buh, buuuuuuh.” And I know that will convey everything I feel in my heart for you.

  2. August 6, 2012 6:20 am

    My son’s summer vacation was spent watching me write my blog. Are you just a better mother?

    Enjoy your break!

    • August 20, 2012 9:38 pm

      Obviously. I’m eating chalk with my kids. How’s that for good mothering skills.

  3. August 6, 2012 6:55 am

    Yeah! Both for Angie and for Rachel. Rachel, I voted for you. I know a winner when I see one, especially in a geek-off contest. I will proudly invite you to play Dungeons and Dragons secretly under the chemistry lab tables (’cause we already know what’s going in there anyway).

    Angie, enjoy your time off. You’ve got some awesome guest post-ers up there. I promise to give them my full attention and pinky-swear not to shoot spit wads at them from the back of the room.

    Happy Summer, woman. :)

  4. August 6, 2012 6:59 am

    Enjoy your vacation! Hope you find some tasty chalk!

  5. August 6, 2012 7:54 am

    Three cheers for Hair Hydrangeas and Olive Oyle notebooks! And Happy Bloggy Vacay – smooth move. :)

    • August 20, 2012 9:39 pm

      Thanks! It was a good break — cleared out the ol’ noggin a bit.

  6. August 6, 2012 8:57 am

    YESSSSSSSS! I now have closure on my awkward years thanks to you, Angie. I can’t believe you are sending me an autographed photo of yourself. I’m going to put it in a double frame, right next to my winning photo. It’ll be like we were Best Friends 4 EVA in 1987. Your crimped hair is totally cool by the way. I bet that took hours.

    An Olive Oyl notebook? That was my nickname! It’s a wonder I even made it to well-adjusted adulthood.

    • August 7, 2012 5:13 pm

      Congrats, Rache! WELL DESERVED. (Is that a compliment in this scenario? I swear I mean it as one.)

      Can’t wait for your guest post!

      • August 7, 2012 10:41 pm

        Thanks for the congratulations, Jules! My 1987 self thanks you even more than my modern era self. She’s smiling (with those glorious two front teeth) and pushing up her glasses right now.

    • August 20, 2012 9:41 pm

      That autographed photo will be worth a lot someday when I’m a childhood nostalgia blogger who has a few followers on WordPress. Wait…that’s right now! You are so lucky.

  7. August 6, 2012 9:12 am

    It’s not my fault school closes for the summer and puta pressure on me to spend time with the kids. This isn’t the natural order of things and I refuse to feel guilty.

    • August 20, 2012 9:43 pm

      Parents spending time with our children? C’mon, schools. If I allow my children to get to spend time with me, know me and perhaps not fear me, that just takes away from their chance at learning about math computer games.

  8. August 6, 2012 9:26 am

    Enjoy your break. I will miss you. By the way I seem to have misplaced my BBFF necklace. I might have inadvertently traded it for nude pic of Christian Grey. Do you think you can send me another one?

    • August 20, 2012 9:45 pm

      Your fifth one will be a choke collar. I read about those in EL James’ novels and I think it’s a great way to go in relationship-building.

  9. August 6, 2012 10:38 am

    Have a great vacation, and don’t worry about a thing here at your blog. Except there’s a good chance that local teenagers will get wind that you’re gone and break in and have wild, drunken orgies and trash the place, but don’t worry about that.

    • August 20, 2012 9:46 pm

      I’m back, and I’m thrilled to see no one threw up on my bratass face while I was away. Not even once. You kids were so good. I’m shocked. It’s like I don’t even know you.

  10. August 6, 2012 12:26 pm

    Enjoy the time with your little ones! You’ll be missed but you are leaving us in very capable hands, by the sound of it. Have fun!!

    • August 20, 2012 9:46 pm

      Thanks, Audrey! It’s good to be back. I needed the break, for sure.

  11. August 6, 2012 12:45 pm

    Ew, I hated those “How I Spent My Summer Vacation” assignments. I never did anything interesting in the summer. I didn’t even dig a hole, although I did watch my friend’s little sisters dig a hole until they hit a pipe. Have a good vacation. Before you know it they will be 12 and 8 (the ages of my girls). I’m not sure when that happened.

    • August 20, 2012 9:47 pm

      I always feared hitting a pipe. Or a person’s body. Or a dead pet.

      • August 20, 2012 10:04 pm

        That could be awkward. I love your school photo. How old are you there? I might have to use a photo from me as a kid – awkward is cuter when you’re a kid.

      • August 20, 2012 10:26 pm

        Is it the one on my blog’s sidebar labeled Dynomite? Or are you talking my Gravatar? If you mean the former, that’s actually Rachel, my newest contest winner! If you mean the latter, I was five and likely whacked out on a frosted donut high.

  12. August 6, 2012 2:12 pm

    have a great 2 week break, and may you and your daughter spend your days eating chalk and sleeping under the stars :)

  13. August 6, 2012 10:44 pm

    At least you didn’t write “special” LOL :D

    Looking forward to the guest bloggers… especially a fellow Brit :) Have a great vacation! And when you come back, I want to hear what you did!

    • August 20, 2012 9:49 pm

      I meant special in the way of After-School Special. Or 38 Special. There’s a whole lot of special around this place.

  14. August 7, 2012 1:32 am

    It’s cool to see the two pictures together. Enjoy your time off, and we’ll enjoy the guest blogger. Have fun.

  15. August 7, 2012 1:00 pm

    I attempted to rehearse my Mary Poppins-style descent earlier today, but fell rather than flew from my bedroom window and broke my ankle, nose and 3 ribs. That’s what I get for buying a cheap brolly from the pound shop.

    As adorable as freckles on Prince Harry?! Surely only kittens wearing mittens are that adorable?!

    • August 20, 2012 9:51 pm

      “Brolly”! Did you really say “brolly”? Oh, I could just spread your Brit-speak on toast, it’s so adorable.

  16. August 7, 2012 5:12 pm

    Ang! I will miss you so much, but “have a great summer see you in September”! (Luckily we don’t have to wait quite that long.)

    You are spoiling us in your absence. This is a guest bloggy FEAST. Can’t wait!

    You know I’d never do that to your BBBF necklace. The fortune teller told me so.

    • August 20, 2012 9:54 pm

      I am thinking of auctioning off my next BBFF necklace — I want to see you and Speaker7 (and maybe Darla for added kicks) scramble for it like white girls at a bridal dress outlet mall. I want you to tear each other up. And that’s when I wake up and realize it was all a dream and I’m still the geek of the school who eats lunch by herself on the grassy knoll.

  17. August 7, 2012 9:59 pm

    I hope you have fun on your break!

  18. August 8, 2012 8:42 am

    see you on the flip side!

    • August 20, 2012 9:56 pm

      See you in the funny papers! Which I still don’t understand.

  19. August 10, 2012 7:16 am

    Enjoy your break! See you when you get back :)

  20. August 10, 2012 10:24 am

    Did you ever see the Rubik’s Cube cartoon? “Rubik’s here to help!!” These kids carry around a Rubik’s cube and then get in trouble and solve the Rubik’s Cube, who then grows a face and does magical things.

    It begs the question: Why unsolve the cube? Why not leave it solved?

    Among other things.

    • August 20, 2012 11:11 am

      Oh My God. How the hell did I forget that stupid show? My brother recently reminded me that Mr. T was also a cartoon once. Horrible! He hung out with these gymnast kids. And I couldn’t tell you much more. I’m sure at least once an episode he’d break in with, “I pity the fool.” By the way, your comment has partly inspired my upcoming blog post.

  21. August 13, 2012 5:04 pm

    Angie!! I miss you already. Enjoy the time off, and thank you for looking after the kiddos (um, that would be all of us) by providing bloggy guests while you’re gone!

    • August 20, 2012 9:56 pm

      You don’t have to. I’m already back! Hope you’re doing well, Amber.

  22. August 21, 2012 7:18 pm

    I hope you enjoyed enough chalk for the lot of us. Why play hopscotch when you can just eat the chalk instead?

    • August 22, 2012 8:15 pm

      Hopscotch was just my excuse to get my mom to buy me more chalk to eat. (Shhhhhh.)

Trackbacks

  1. What the . . . One to Grow On? « Childhood Relived

Comment. All the cool kids do.

