Skip to content

Power Play Never Pays

August 15, 2012

Please welcome blogger Speaker7 who is today guest-posting at Childhood Relived.

For the past several weeks, I have immersed myself in the literary sloppy joe that is the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy.  I’ve been posing a creepy half-man puppet and blue bunny in various compromising positions all over my house, and have made a groove in my dining room table from repeated head slamming.  Then a beacon of light in the form of an email shone in my inbox.  (The trilogy has caused the decline in my ability to write so I apologize if the previous sentence does not make a lick of sense.)  Angie Z, my blogging best friend forever, asked if I’d be willing to write a guest post.  I murmuringly emailed “Yes” while my inner goddess stuck a fork in an electrical socket.  My subconscious brought me back to reality by snapping, “What are you going to write about, you imbecile?”  Good question, subconscious, and how are we able to have this conversation?  Angie Z.’s blog is about childhood while I’ve mainly been writing about a pair of feeble-minded butt plugs.

Then I got to thinking about Sweet Valley High, the one series that was able to get me away from my normal childhood schedule of 12 to 14 hours of television.  I was not much of a reader, preferring to let my imagination soar by passively watching the creations of others’ imaginations.  But there was something about the sun-streaked all-American perfectness of the Wakefield twins that spoke to my prepubescent heart.  My once sparse bookshelf filled up with the first 35 books.  I think the series is now up to 1,325,237, and last I knew Elizabeth was recently impregnated by computer sperm.  Thrilling stuff.

I chose to focus on book 4, Power Play, mainly because that was the only book available at the local library.

There were a few things I remembered:

  • Jessica and Elizabeth are twins
  • Jessica and Elizabeth wear matching lavalieres
  • In one book, Elizabeth gets kidnapped by an orangutan and falls into a coma (I may not be remembering that perfectly)

Here’s what I forgot:

  • Jessica is a manic, narcissistic sociopath
  • Elizabeth is a doormat
  • These books suck

The story begins with fat classmate Robin Wilson’s desire to gain acceptance into the Phi Beta Alpha sorority.  A high school sorority?  Was that a thing in the 1980s?  Weird, and apparently forgettable because I didn’t remember this at all and it is a HUGE deal to Jessica, but not to Elizabeth who cares more about the school newspaper.

How do I know Robin’s fat?

“True (Robin) was ‘a little overweight’ as her mother had said.  Much more than a little, actually.”  – Those are Elizabeth’s thoughts

Robin hungrily unwraps and devours a chocolate bar—not a regular sized bar, but a large one.

Elizabeth becomes “hypnotized by Robin’s rhythmic chewing” and notes the bar is disappearing quickly into Robin’s giant pie hole.

Elizabeth snaps out of her chocolate-gazing stupor and says:  “‘Robin, doesn’t eating like that make you’—don’t say ‘fat’ she warned herself—‘break out?’”

Again, she is the nice twin.

Robin licks her sticky fingers and blames her weight on her metabolism while Elizabeth judges Robin in her head and thinks how the twins have to watch their diets to maintain their perfect size 6 figures.

Robin “struggle(s) to get out of the deep cushions.”

Elizabeth offers to nominate Robin for the sorority knowing her sister won’t and thinks:  Why should Robin be kept out of PBA because she’s a little overweight?  All right, a lot overweight.

Robin excitedly calls her mom and opens another candy bar.

Hm.  I’m having a little trouble here figuring out what the author is trying to convey about Robin.

Thank you.  And that’s just in chapter one.

In other chapters, Robin wears different varieties of “tent dresses.”  When Elizabeth nominates Robin against Jessica’s wishes, Robin consumes an entire cherry cheesecake in fatty happiness.

Pledge week begins.  Jess forces Robin to run around the track every day for a week in front of a crowd of non well-wishers.  She has to wear a bikini to the beach and play volleyball.  She does all these things and then her friend Jessica drops the bombshell.  Robin has to get the school’s top douche Bruce Patman to invite her to the Discomarathon.  Ah, the 1980s.  Elizabeth coerces him by promising to write an article about his tennis prowess for the school paper.

Robin’s tent dress at the dance is “prettier. . .than usual.”  Oh, that’s so sweet to think, Elizabeth.  There’s a lull between Funky Town and MacArthur Park when Bruce announces, “OK, that’s it.  I brought you to the dance, Tubby.  But I’ve got better things to do now.  Hey!  Anybody want to steer the Queen Mary around the floor tonight?  She’s all yours!”

“Discomarathon had become Discodisaster.”  Are you Discofuckingkiddingme?

Robin cries in the girl’s bathroom and Elizabeth tries for comfort with “You’ve got a pretty face.”  She initially didn’t mean it, but on closer inspection of Robin’s snot-covered visage, Elizabeth sees a glimmer of beauty encased by fat.

At the PBA vote, Robin has a black ball cast against her, effectively keeping her out of the sorority.  Elizabeth knows it was Jessica, but the voting remains anonymous.  Elizabeth accompanies Jessica to break the news to Robin.  Robin’s face contorts into a tragedy mask, and she yells, “There’s no reason for me to go on.”  She knocks over a chair on her way out because…she’s fat.

Robin is absent from school for a couple of days.  When she returns, she walks the halls like a zombie and spends most of her time running on the track in a shapeless sweat suit.  Elizabeth’s reporter sense begins to tingle.  Something is different about Robin.  She sees Robin’s lunch tray is not piled with mounds of Crisco but instead lettuce leaves, tomatoes and a hardboiled egg.  A light bulb goes off over Elizabeth’s head albeit a very dim one.  Robin is losing weight.  No kidding.  A-derp.

Robin becomes super popular because her fatness was the one thing holding her back.  She tries out for cheerleading and makes co-captain with Jessica.  Robin starts to talk to Elizabeth again after realizing Elizabeth doesn’t suck as hard as Jessica.  Because Elizabeth is a doormat and a dopey one at that, she tries to say “Oh no, Jess would never hurt you.  She’s your friend.”  And Robin is all like “The fuck?”

Robin eventually wins the coveted Miss Sweet Valley High at the Football Queen Pageant.  The what, now?

Jessica was her main competition and Jessica decides it’s time to invite Robin to join PBA.  Robin says suck it.

So what was the message exactly?

Well played, girls.

85 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2012 6:23 am

    Nice seeing you in this space, Speaker7. And darn it, I could have read this post at work …

    • August 15, 2012 7:55 am

      Sorry Elyse. It’s back to butt plugs and bachelor pads for this little Speaker.

  2. August 15, 2012 6:42 am

    Now I can add the Sweet Valley High books to the Shades of Grey (Gray?) series as tomes which I don’t have to read. Regardless of whether I would have anyway, I appreciate you summarizing all these works of shiterature with just a hint of your opinion creeping in there.

    • August 15, 2012 7:58 am

      Once you’ve read one Sweet Valley High, you’ve pretty much read all of them. But sometimes Elizabeth gets kidnapped or coma-ed. And then it becomes really “exciting.”

    • August 16, 2012 2:05 pm

      I love the term shiterature. Thank you for sharing!

      • August 16, 2012 2:07 pm

        I don’t know if it existed before now, but by all means, let’s spread that shit around!

      • August 16, 2012 2:08 pm

        In that case, congratulations on inventing the best literary term EVER!

      • August 16, 2012 2:09 pm

        well…it does seem to apply in certain cases…though I don’t know how 50 shades didn’t create a niche for the term long ago.

  3. August 15, 2012 6:58 am

    Yet another book I haven’t read. And now I see I was seriously missing out. Here I was, growing up in the ’80s thinking it was inner beauty that counted most! Fffft!

    I laughed out loud at the picture where the twins say “Robin is fat.” You kill me, Speaker!

    Thank you for recrapping this book and all the 50 Shades books, I have loads of free time on my hands now (and I can sleep more soundly at night)

    • August 15, 2012 8:00 am

      I’m so happy you were finally able to see the light about outer beauty although it’s so much better to learn that lesson when you’re 10.

      • August 15, 2012 1:04 pm

        I so love the word “recrapping” I will use it now and forever more, amen.

  4. August 15, 2012 7:03 am

    They are a size SIX?!!! Do they not realize that’s fat by today’s standards? Oh, how the tables have turned.

    • August 15, 2012 7:51 am

      Nowadays, and I wish I was kidding or that I didn’t know this, they are described as “perfect size 4″s. I’m sure that number will go down soon.

      Great post, Speaker7! I always did think Elizabeth was bitchier than Jessica.

      • August 15, 2012 8:02 am

        Are you kidding?!? That makes me super depressed. I might have to eat an entire cherry cheesecake now.

      • August 20, 2012 8:25 pm

        Yeah, Elizabeth bugged the hell out of me.

    • August 20, 2012 8:24 pm

      Ha! I noticed that too!

  5. August 15, 2012 7:45 am

    OMG, S7. You rock my world.

    I just read this post to my husband without reading it myself first. Big mistake. You know why? Because I prefaced it by saying, “Sweet Valley High? Man, when I was 12 and 13, I LOVED SVH. I read all the Sweet Valley Twins books, and then most of the Sweet Valley High books and I always wanted to be like Jessica (she was the cool, crazy one) but I was secretly afraid I was more like Elizabeth (she was the boring, bookish, journalist one).” Then I read the post and realised… wow, these books sucked.

    And now my husband things I’m a loser. (Joke’s on him — he’s the one who married me.)

    • August 15, 2012 10:31 am

      I loved these craptastic books too. Loved them! I thought Elizabeth and Todd had the bestest relationship. I must have re-read the first 35 books at least 35 times.

  6. August 15, 2012 7:45 am

    Nice work, Speaker7. There are too many laugh out loud moments to list in this silly box. Let’s just say, the whole piece rocked. (Have you thought about book reviews for a living?)

    As a young teen, I read a different series, though the name of it escapes me now. It was trashy sexy novels for the teen girl (you or Angie probably know). I remember something in one book about some guy getting his testicles shaved and it burning when she put after shave on them. What the…? I hoped my mom would never know what I was getting at the local library or she might’ve pulled my library card.

    Perhaps I should buy the Sweet Valley High series on Amazon and begin reading straight away to my 6 and 7 year old girls. In a few years, they’ll be much more prepared that the other teens for the angst and drama that will no doubt be their high school years, will have “practiced” how to handle these life-changing and important situations. Heck – it may even increase their chances of being accepted into a high school sorority. Oh yes. I can see my “Mom of the Year” trophy now…

    • August 15, 2012 8:04 am

      Hmm. Testicle-shaving does not ring a bell–although now I need to find the name of this series and begin reading immediately.

      Good parenting plan. I’m trying to turn my 2-year-old son into a mini Bruce Patman.

    • August 20, 2012 8:26 pm

      I have no idea what books you are talking about, Shannon….but holy crap! Testicle-shaving might’ve sent me over the edge of sanity back then. I was so innocent that I could barely sit through a kissing scene on a soap opera without peeing my pants.

      • August 21, 2012 11:59 am

        Yes. Testicle shaving. My 8th grade best bud and I (I was in 9th) read it out loud in her bedroom and giggled and were embarrassed while we smoked the remainders of discarded menthol cigs (we robbed her dad’s garbage can – can you imagine??). We felt soooo naughty. I wish I could remember the book or the author. Perhaps she remembers…

      • August 22, 2012 8:22 pm

        Not nearly as naughty as a certain girl I know who looked at Playboy magazines with a certain friend of hers (they were a certain friend’s dad’s). Maybe this is why I was terrified of my approaching puberty and wanted nothing more than for my breasts to lie dormant in my ribcage for 20 years.

      • August 23, 2012 7:36 am

        Oh my, Ms. Z. We have more in common than I thought, only it was MY house with the Playboys. My dad kept all his old subscriptions back as far as 1960! It was a pre-pubescent gold mine for curious little minds. We’d sit in the hot attic with a flashlight hoping not to get caught…

      • August 24, 2012 3:11 pm

        Yes, we need to compare notes, Shannon. That is, compare notes on what we did as curious youngsters. Let’s not compare notes on what we saw — oh, good gravy, no! No! No! Make it stop!

  7. August 15, 2012 8:28 am

    Isn’t the plot of She’s All That very similar to this? I am just as disturbed as you that I remember the plot of She’s All That.

    • August 15, 2012 10:33 am

      I believe in She’s All That, the protagonist just wore icky glasses. (why do I know this?) Robin is fat, which is akin to being a child molester in thin land of Sweet Valley.

      • August 15, 2012 1:46 pm

        Just got back from California, LA area. It’s surreal. I only saw one person with actual belly fat. And then I realized she wasn’t overweight; she was pregnant!

        I remember reading these books in elementary school. (By junior high I was on to literary masterpieces like VC Andrews…) At the time, I thought Jessica was a bitch and Elizabeth was awesome. Now I realize they’re both bitches.

        Oh, but I do remember that in one book a girl died from using cocaine. And that scared the crap out of me. So, technically I did learn one good thing from these shite books.

        P.S. What exactly is a lavalierre?

      • August 15, 2012 2:10 pm

        I didn’t get to the cocaine book. I did read the one about the girl who tried to kill herself because she didn’t make the cheerleading squad. I think lavaliere is a smaller version of a lava lamp one wears around one’s neck.

        I read the V.C. Andrews books too. Gah, so squicky.

    • August 20, 2012 8:27 pm

      You’re right! So similar!

  8. August 15, 2012 9:45 am

    Well done! Never read these either, so it was good to see what they’re about.

    Isn’t the message here also, bully a fat kid enough and they’ll lose weight? Yeah, I don’t think that tactic ever worked.

    • August 15, 2012 10:34 am

      Ooh, that is also a very good message. Do whatever your tormentors say and good things will come. I’m going to put that on a bumper sticker.

      • August 16, 2012 1:57 pm

        It’s like The Princess Diaries where all the nerdy girl has to do is shave her eyebrows and kaboom she’s a model! Also, if people acted like total douchebags because you were fat and then you go skinny would you really want to be friends with these people? Oh, nevermind, this is high school.

  9. August 15, 2012 9:59 am

    wow, I think I might need to reread some of those books… if only for the uplifting messages and real-life situations they present :P

    • August 15, 2012 10:36 am

      I tell you, you can learn so much about navigating the trickier moments in life. Perfect size 6 and sun-streaked hair = never-ending happiness.

  10. notcurrentlyblogging permalink
    August 15, 2012 10:08 am

    Hi Speaker, these books were around when my kids were 13 or so, so although I am feeling ancient now I also feel a little less defensive about falling in love with the classics and books about Russian girls when I was that age. I also discovered at that time that I liked reading about history. Even my father was a little hesitant to buy these books for me. I remember him putting his hand on my forehead when I begged him to buy me The Diaries of Louis Reil. For reasons unexplainable even to me, my favorite books at that age were The Diaries of Louis Reil, and Les Miserables. At the time I hid this from others with a sense of guilt and confusion. You would think I was a secret purger or hiding a hoarding disorder. I think things are only going to get worse for girls. Literature aimed at girls has always been appallingStill, a very funny post, and this is probably the best defense.

    • August 15, 2012 10:38 am

      It’s gotten a little better than Sweet Valley although there sure is a lot of dreck out there. But some authors actually write realistic female characters to counteract the Bella Swans and Jessica Wakefields of the fiction world.

  11. August 15, 2012 10:15 am

    Teenage girls really are all sociopaths. This recap just reminded me of that.

    • August 15, 2012 10:39 am

      Yup. Never, ever would I ever want to go back to that age.

  12. August 15, 2012 10:46 am

    Oh how I loved those books. I don’t remember why. I must have been discofuckingkidding myself.

    • August 15, 2012 10:51 am

      Don’t discoworry yourself. The discoloving of these books affected many disco lovers such as myself.

      • August 15, 2012 10:55 am

        I now feel the disconeed to start every ten words or so with disco. Oh what discofun I will have at my office today. People are going to discohate me. LOL

  13. August 15, 2012 11:38 am

    Thank God I was already too old for those books. Nancy Drew was never mean to her plump pal, Bess. Yes, she was called ‘plump’. Very kind, don’t you think?

    • August 15, 2012 11:54 am

      Oh, I remember pleasingly plump Bess. I think plump is slightly better than “tub of lard” which is how Jessica refers to Robin.

  14. August 15, 2012 12:41 pm

    Holy 80s, this post sure brought me back. I think I read every one of those books at least twice. I learned all my life lessons from them, like learning to steer clear from sororities.

    • August 15, 2012 2:11 pm

      I managed to avoid all sororities as well, and most people. Thanks Lizzie and Jess!

    • August 20, 2012 8:21 pm

      I joined what I thought was a sorority once, only to discover it was a fabricated Weekly Reader gimmick.

  15. August 15, 2012 1:12 pm

    Reading this hysterical post just brings it all home to me…I’ve GOT to stop hanging around with bloggers who are practically babies! I don’t remember any of these books because I had to leave school at 10, as most of us did back then, so I didn’t have time to read. By that time I was already out slaving away, day and night, in a coal mine so that my possibly/probably/who-cares-if-he-is gay son could go to London and study the ballet.

    Thanks for recrapping this fine shiterature (kudos to Dave and Darla.)

    • August 15, 2012 2:12 pm

      You did not miss out all. These books were the precursor to the horrible behavior you see on reality television.

    • August 20, 2012 8:20 pm

      Speaker7 coined the word recrap and then Darla recrapped the word recrap, which I have also recrapped often since then. Feel free to recrap as you see fit (although Speaker7 does bear the copyrights to it). You’ll have to talk to Dave about the use of the word shiterature. That’s the first I’ve heard of the word. Frankly, I’m pissed at myself (at all of us, really) for not thinking of it before.

      I forgot you were that young — a coal mine, you say? When I was a kid we had just invented fire. Little did we know how much easier it’d be when coal was discovered.

  16. August 15, 2012 3:48 pm

    I think the series is now up to 1,325,237, and last I knew Elizabeth was recently impregnated by computer sperm.
    Ha! In my dreams, they are. No, seriously–my sleeping dreams. Whenever I’m stressed out, I find myself going to thrift shop after thrift shop, picking up all the high-numbered books I didn’t even know existed.

    I actually recently started reading Power Play. I made it about five pages in before duty called, but still . . . I was tickled to see this same book as the subject of this post. I’m not entirely sure I’m going to pick up the book again, though.

    I like remembering them through rose-tinted glasses. It’s nice to have something where I can keep doing so without harm to myself or others. :)

    • August 15, 2012 4:56 pm

      It’s probably best to keep the book closed and remember Jess and Lizzie as the All-American blue-green eyed, sun-streaked blonde, size 6 perfection bots they are.

    • August 20, 2012 8:15 pm

      I reread Ramona Quimby, Age 8 recently — my favorite book as a kid. It didn’t lose a single bit of charm. I loved every page of it all over again. I’m relatively certain I wouldn’t feel that way if I reread a Sweet Valley book.

      • September 11, 2012 7:04 pm

        Ramona Quimby! HEART, HEART! Ramona could easily kick the Wakefield Twins’ asses, but sadly, I devoured both of the “series” as a kid without discrimination (or taste. Or class.)

      • September 11, 2012 7:30 pm

        Talk about innocence! Yes, Ramona was a force to be reckoned with, yet so innocent compared to the Wakefield broads.

        I was just talking about you, Dana. I was telling newly-vegan Shannon from the blog Dirt N Kids about your almond milk recipe.

      • September 12, 2012 8:06 pm

        Oh, my almond milk recipe. I’ve been buying it from the store since the end of July, but maybe next week I’ll soak some almonds and have my homemade way with them again! Doesn’t working all the time SUCK? ;)

      • September 14, 2012 10:09 am

        YES! I work way too hard for my food. And I am way too insistent about working way too hard for my food. Wouldn’t it be great if they made these dinners in a box that were frozen and you could just microwave them when you needed to eat?

      • September 14, 2012 1:31 pm

        I’LL NEVER BACK DOWN from my obsessive, long-hand way of cooking/making things. If I don’t have mushy almond grits in my hair or baking powder dust in every nook and cranny of my kitchen, then the food I’m eating obviously isn’t delicious. Why buy baby spinach in a clamshell container when you can buy a bunch of spinach for almost the same price at the store, wash it yourself, tear it into bite-sized pieces by hand, spin it in a salad spinner, and compost any stems or wilting pieces that don’t make the grade? Pfft!

  17. mary permalink
    August 15, 2012 8:26 pm

    Holy smokes, I loved those books. And after reading this post, it is clear why. They are awesome. Thanks for this trip down memory lane, Speaker7. Now I can add another thing to my “List of Things to Be Embarrassed About From the 80’s.” #267: I loved the Sweet Valley High books. Sigh…

    • August 16, 2012 6:44 am

      My list also includes the wearing of white stirrup pants.

    • August 20, 2012 8:14 pm

      My list also includes (1) wearing white stirrup pants and (2) reading Sweet Valley Crap. Then I’d add (3) watching Canadian low-budget after-school specials on Nickelodeon — and liking it.

  18. August 16, 2012 12:18 am

    loved this bit “…last I knew Elizabeth was recently impregnated by computer sperm. Thrilling stuff.”
    I’ve not read these books or the fifty shades one. OK, yes I did scan the first pages of fifty, but thought it was pretty badly written and put it back! Not that I’m any great literary reader I hasten to add! :)

    • August 16, 2012 6:45 am

      If I threw a bunch of magnetic words on a board in any ol’ random order, I would still craft a better sentence than the sentences one finds in Fifty Shades.

      • August 16, 2012 6:46 am

        well said!

      • August 17, 2012 11:30 am

        That would be the funniest exercise ever actually.

        The top fifty words of fifty rearranged… Somehow though, it would need to end in the phrase “Please don’t be mad at me”.

  19. emisformaker permalink
    August 16, 2012 10:50 am

    Never read Sweet Valley Twins/High/etc. My poison was Sleepover Friends. I had at least the first twenty or so. I also dug The Gymnasts, and Secret of the Unicorn Queen. Any piece of these books that I have reread since is simply so much unintelligible drivel.
    As for Fifty Shades…I got as far as the Wikipedia summary, but was prevented from reading further than, “Was originally ‘Twilight’ fanfiction.” We’re gonna need to invent more calculus to get that derivative.

    • August 16, 2012 12:53 pm

      Ha! Christian is basically Edward except without the sparklingness.

      • emisformaker permalink
        August 16, 2012 1:46 pm

        Yet another compelling argument for never reading anything my mother-in-law suggests.

  20. August 17, 2012 5:37 pm

    I LOVED Sweet Valley High. I remember one book when Jessica (or was it Elizabeth?) painted her room chocolate brown. That’s pretty much all I remember from the books.

    Babysitters Club was my series, though. I wonder if Angie could turn her babysitting adventure into a book…

    • August 20, 2012 8:09 pm

      Ooh, I like the idea of creating my babysitting adventure into a book that will one day be turned into a movie or a cartoon or a lunchbox. Thanks, Rachel.

      • August 20, 2012 8:32 pm

        I’d be the first to buy the Angie action figure. I’d be sure to put your hair in a side pony and dress you in neon green pants and LA Gear high-tops.

      • August 20, 2012 8:36 pm

        How did you know, Rachel? That’s exactly what I’m wearing right now.

      • August 20, 2012 8:44 pm

        Because that’s exactly what I’M wearing; that’s how I knew.

      • August 20, 2012 8:37 pm

        By the way, I’m finally commenting on your guest post. Two weeks later.

      • August 20, 2012 8:44 pm

        You must have had a good staycation then! Because you stayed away from the blog for a bit. :)

  21. August 17, 2012 8:21 pm

    Stop it. Just stop it right now. I can’t take it.

    I know you’re bloggy BFFs. I know this. But Speaker and Angie joining forces and giving me this guest post is like…finding the perfect comeback to “you have such a pretty face.”

    • August 20, 2012 8:11 pm

      I needed a comeback for, “…but only if you had a pretty face.” We should’ve joined forces on comebacks.

  22. August 20, 2012 8:08 am

    I love laughing at 5:30AM – excellent post ~

  23. August 20, 2012 8:06 pm

    I never read the books on their high school years, the original series. A while after the Sweet Valley High books came about, Francine Pascal created Sweet Valley Junior High. These books were for meek girls who liked the idea of identical twins with sun-streaked hair and blue-green eyes with opposite personalities, but just preferred their fights to be about tamer things like jeans and chores instead of drugs and make-out partners. Obviously I was the coolest girl in my school. Obviously I related the most to Jessica.

  24. August 25, 2012 4:40 pm

    Nice recrap! You know, there’s a Sweet Valley sequel book, right? It came out last year. They are adults in this book (although not nearly as old as they should be), but are still horrible, horrible people. I spent many hours I can never get back reading it. I wrote about it back when I actually updated my blog more than once a month. You really nailed it with Elizabeth–this is the good twin?!? God I hate her.

  25. September 11, 2012 7:09 pm

    AWESOME POST! I was never a fan of the SVH books, though I devoured each and every one of the Junior High edition. Twice. I was too meek and innocent to relate to/comprehend the “issues” faced by the high school twins, but my heart was captivated by Elizabeth in her jr. high days. (So true, though– how could I have not noticed what a bitch Elizabeth was? At the time, she just seemed nerdy and sweet.)

    • September 11, 2012 7:27 pm

      My thoughts exactly, Dana! Ditto everything you said here.

Trackbacks

  1. Read This and Then Go To Childhood Relived | Speaker7

Comment. All the cool kids do.

