Skip to content

Dear Jessica, I Like When Men Wear Glitter

October 31, 2012

And just when you thought you had quite your fill of the 1982-Angie and 1989-Jessica letter series (oh, no — trust me, you haven’t), another old pen pal letter surfaces!

This time 1982-Angie is eager to share her American Halloween traditions with her British pen pal.  Who apparently celebrates Halloween too?  (Psssst.  England celebrates Halloween.  Did not know this.  No, really.  I didn’t.  Also thought “Jessica” was pronounced “HAY-soos.”)

Join me across the Atlantic?  (C’mon, it’s okay.  They look just like us.  Perhaps a bit pastier.)

Click here to read the letter.  And Happy Halloween!

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2012 8:23 am

    Commenting here because I’m too dumb to figure out how to do it on Jessica’s. You have to like, fill out a form or something?

    Poltergeist was PG? I still haven’t gotten brave enough to watch that. Oh how I wish I had been Angie’s or Jessica’s pen pal in 1982! Even a fake one! Where can I find a fake pen pal?

    Space princess – hahaha. Off to snort some Kool-Aid.

    Alice

    • November 4, 2012 9:28 pm

      Yes, Poltergeist was PG. WTH, am I right? I think Steven Spielberg tried to ruin my childhood.

  2. October 31, 2012 10:12 am

    I like how you called Elton John a “space princess.” I’ve always been a fan Elton John, and I think it might be the glitter. :) Certainly gives him an edge over the other guys just wearing jeans and a T-shirt.

    • November 4, 2012 9:29 pm

      Elton John was so pretty back then. I remember taking note of his wardrobe and finding inspiration.

  3. October 31, 2012 11:01 am

    After seeing Elton John in that photo, how on earth do you expect me to get any sleep tonight, Angie? I blame both you and Jess for any and all nightmares in the near future.

    • November 4, 2012 9:30 pm

      I had nightmares about his chest hair. Chest hair should never be spotted peeking out from pink polyester.

  4. November 1, 2012 2:36 pm

    That homely woman in pink standing next to Miss Piggy was a guy?

  5. November 2, 2012 12:04 pm

    I watched Poltergeist at a slumber party in a haunted farm house. I will never be the same. It shook me to my core! Thanks for bringing back such painful memories by showing that picture, Ang. I’m gonna have to go back to checking under my bed for clowns again. My therapist will NOT be pleased with this turn of events!

    • November 4, 2012 9:31 pm

      I know, I know. And I apologize, Misty. You can send your therapy bill to Steven Spielberg.

  6. November 2, 2012 2:46 pm

    Space Princess!! LOL Right on. Only real men wear pink. And glitter. With machismo chest hair exploding from the deep-thrusted (no sexual overtones intended) V-neck. Somehow, though, it’s funnier when Larry the Cable Guy does it in Tooth Fairy 2.

    Why do you keep bringing up Poltergeist? Are you intent on sending us all to 80’s therapy? Static on the TV at 3:00a still gives me the creeps. Oh, wait. There is no static. Just political ads. Oh, wait, those scare the crap out of me too.

    • November 4, 2012 9:33 pm

      I think the political ads might be scarier than the Poltergeist TV. And I once saw a clown doll that looked just like Pat Robertson. I shudder at the memory.

      • November 9, 2012 4:05 pm

        And Pat doesn’t even need make-up.

    • November 4, 2012 9:34 pm

      Chest hair mixed with glitter is scarier than the Poltergeist TV and Pat Robertson.

Comment. All the cool kids do.

