Skip to content

Rachel is the Dynomitest Dynomite Kid!

December 3, 2012

I have an announcement.

Rachel’s Facebook friends  the voters have spoken.

Rachel — you are the winner of my Dynomite! Family Photo Edition contest!

Congratulations to Rachel of the blog Rachel’s Table!

Holy hairspray, your family looks sharp!

RachelsFamily_Dynomite

The competition was fierce.  But in their Windsor knots, Breck Girl bouffants, preppy blue coordinating color scheme and are-we-having-fun-yet smiles that won a place in America’s heart, Rachel’s family beat out of three other formidable families donning pixie cuts, a bolo tie, Austin Powers specs, red vinyl boots and teenage angst so thick you couldn’t sever it with a Ginsu knife.

Hooray — everyone is so thrilled for your family, Rachel!

Everyone . . . everyone . . . except . . .

Lucy

Oh cripes.  This feels awkward.

This feels just like that time in 4th grade when I told Shannon I’d be her field trip partner on the bus ride to the sheep farm and then thirty minutes later I got a much better offer from Cindy and then at that very moment when I was walking onto the bus with Cindy, I saw Shannon sitting there with a seat already saved for me and with an expression that looked almost exactly like . . .

Well we can’t all be winners.

For winning big as the Dynomite! kid featured on my blog, Rachel will receive a second helping of Flashback-in-a-Box.  And it’s sure to be spectacular this time because I have two bags worth of kids party trinkets, a bowl of Halloween candy, some leftover Thanksgiving yams and everything must go.

And a final thank you to Rachel, Nancy, Emily and Lucy for entering your smashing family photos!  You truly are all Dynomite! in my eyes.

Dynomite!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2012 8:47 am

    The Cindy/Shannon moment reminds me (for some reason – it’s kind of the complete opposite situation) of this time I was walking home with some friends and they ran up ahead. Then, as I was almost caught up, they were hiding in the bushes and some kids was talking to them and they were shushing him saying, “Don’t talk to us! We’re hiding from Byronic Boy because we don’t want to walk home with him!” I said something like, “That’s fine, I’d rather hang out with someone else anyway!” and was SO PLEASED that I’d caught them in the act that I was in a good mood for hours.

    It was only a few days later that it sunk in… “wait a second… they were hiding in the bushes to avoid hanging out with me?”

    • December 20, 2012 10:47 pm

      I think I just grew a zit on my forehead and broke into a flop sweat at the very thought of your Byronic Boy saga. Adolescence is not for wimps, is it?

  2. December 3, 2012 9:49 am

    You’re drudging up some baaad memories with that Shannon story, Nnng. But all will be forgiven after Rache shares some of those yams with me.

    Because Rache would never pull a 4th grade Angie on me, would she? ….Rache?

    • December 20, 2012 10:47 pm

      I have searched for Shannon on Facebook for YEARS. I must repent, Jules! It’s tearing me up. For realz.

  3. December 3, 2012 12:12 pm

    Go Rachel!! Much deserved win. Congrats.

    And I just realized that Rachel’s brother (?) looks quite a bit like John Cusack, who I love. Hey, Rache . . . is your brother single? I’m asking . . . for a friend. Yeah, that’s it.

    • December 20, 2012 10:44 pm

      You’re . . . sort of . . . right there! And I once dated a guy who sort of looked like John Cusack just because he sort of looked like John Cusack. Didn’t turn out too well.

  4. December 3, 2012 12:16 pm

    Joy really does smell like hairspray.

  5. December 3, 2012 6:39 pm

    I never wanted to be sent back to junior high in a blog post. Thanks, Angie.

    • December 20, 2012 10:42 pm

      You know I love to remind you of what you’ve tried to forget. It’s a gift I have.

  6. December 4, 2012 6:27 am

    Awesome! I love awkward family photos. :)

  7. Emily permalink
    December 4, 2012 9:22 am

    That’s an awesome picture, but Angie……if I didn’t know better, I’d swear that these “contests” are just a sneaky way for you to de-clutter your house, and prevent your kids from eating too much Halloween candy.

    • December 20, 2012 10:39 pm

      You might be right there. I actually threw the last of the Halloween candy in the trash. So Rachel will have to take last year’s Easter candy instead.

  8. December 5, 2012 12:11 am

    I havent heen blogging for a while, so I haven’t visited lately…so sorry! Still cracking me up though! :) :) :)

    • December 20, 2012 10:37 pm

      I haven’t been blogging for a while either — we’re in the same boat. And Gopher, Isaac and the Captain are all there.

  9. December 5, 2012 11:58 am

    Talk about awkward, that bus story is making me break out in not-so-fond-memory hives – JEEZ! Congrats to Rachel and her clearly not enjoying themselves family. Good times, good times.

    • December 20, 2012 10:36 pm

      I try to only remember the stories where I was the victim of the mean girls — because surely I was never the mean girl, right?

  10. December 8, 2012 4:28 pm

    This was a lot funnier before Thanksgiving when I didn`t have some of these happy times pics of my own kids.

    • December 20, 2012 10:33 pm

      Ooh, sounds like you scored some winners — worthy as future torture when they grow up?

  11. December 12, 2012 7:21 am

    Yeah! Congrats, Rachel! I bet you never imagined being awkward would pay you handsomely one day.

    • December 20, 2012 10:31 pm

      I am still waiting for it to pay me. Did I suffer in vain?

Comment. All the cool kids do.

