Skip to content

Are you there, friends? It’s me, Angie Z.

July 6, 2015

It just came to my attention that last week marked the 4th anniversary of my blog, Childhood Relived! Four years….wow. It goes so fast. Why, only yesterday my blog was knee-high to a grasshopper and now it’s all grown up, living in my basement and binge-watching Quantum Leap reruns on Netflix.

Oh, something-something time in a bottle…

Meanwhile, it also just came to my attention that I’m soon to celebrate another blog anniversary! Yes indeed. Next month marks the 2nd anniversary since….I ditched my blog. (Gulp.) Two years….wow. It goes so fast.

Hello, remember me? Me, your friend in flashbacks, the one who once ate playdough and piddled in my pants? The one who had imaginary conversations with John Cusack, the one who helped you remember the exact swish sound your parachute pants made when you walked? The one who looked pathetically like this:

angie_4

Yes. That was me.

And then I birthed a human baby, you see. And that baby required some time and attention and parts of my body. And I was up in the night and, weeeeeeeelllll, when you’re averaging 5 hours of sleep a night, it turns out you actually cannot (1) operate heavy equipment, (2) fly airplanes, or (3) google photos of John Stamos’ 1988 hairdo for a blog post on the top 10 best TV sitcom mullets.

But now my baby is a toddler and practically on his own. And I’ve missed it around here. I’ve missed you. I’ve missed us! And so now, well, I’m sort of back. If you’ll have me.

Soon I will be posting the details of my new blogging venture. I’m very excited about it! Like more excited than I even was about New Coke! Like this will be super better than New Coke, I promise. Or just think of it as a Childhood Relived spin-off. Like when a show ended and you were all, awwww…it’s over. And then you were all, yaaaaay! It’s over but it’s kind of back, only with different Big Misunderstandings and new characters and one could even look a tiny bit like Don Knotts if you squint just right, and then it’s almost like old times.

Just like that.

So pretty-please-with-some-Skittles-on-top stay tuned to what will surely be the greatest spin-off ever created since Three’s a Crowd  Joanie Loves Chachi  Just the Ten of Us  The Brady Brides  Laverne & Shirley.

73 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2015 6:09 am

    Triple-like! I’ve been wondering how you’re doing! It’s so good to see you here!

    • July 6, 2015 1:38 pm

      I triple-appreciate your warm welcome back! I think of you often when I see underappreciated baby turtles.

  2. Susan permalink
    July 6, 2015 6:11 am

    It’s about time. Welcome back.

  3. July 6, 2015 6:24 am

    We’ve missed you too! As for spin-offs, I end up missing the original show, because they aired it at the same time as Get Smart, and I had a wicked crush on Agent 99. So I just watch the spin-offs and when everyone says how much better the original was, I’m oblivious. The latest example; “Better Call Saul”. I enjoyed it, but never watched “Breaking Bad”.
    On a side note, you’re not going to take another 2 years to develop the spin-off are you?

    • July 6, 2015 1:41 pm

      Thank you for your support of my return and my spin-off! How’ve you been? No, not two years in the making — it will be short and painless, unlike two seasons of “Joey.”

      • July 7, 2015 5:13 am

        I’ve been fine, though not writing nearly enough. I’d love to give some sort of excuse other than laziness, but I’m too lazy to even come up with a decent lie.

  4. July 6, 2015 7:07 am

    Welcome back. I’m certain you will be Frasier, not The Tortellis.

    • July 6, 2015 1:43 pm

      Well done, Nancy! You referenced the name of the worst spin-off ever — how could I forget The Tortellis? On second thought, how could I remember it?

      • July 6, 2015 3:07 pm

        Nah… Joanie loves Chachi was FAR WORSE!

      • July 6, 2015 9:21 pm

        My mind is foggy on this and Netflix has neither series (shocking) for me to confirm.

  5. July 6, 2015 7:09 am

    I’m confused with The Brady Brides being crossed off. Isn’t that the greatest sequel ever?

    • July 6, 2015 1:46 pm

      I would disagree that The Brady Brides is the greatest sequel ever — only because, unlike its host organism, it did not feature a special appearance by Davy Jones.

    • July 6, 2015 7:35 pm

      And where are YOU?!?!

      • July 6, 2015 9:15 pm

        Good question! I was wondering the same.

      • July 6, 2015 9:17 pm

        Maybe Speaker7 has been hiding with your son!

      • July 6, 2015 9:27 pm

        Now that you mention it, I have never seen them both in the same room at once! Oh wait, that’s superhero alter-egos.

      • July 6, 2015 9:27 pm

        Angie is BAAACK!!!

      • July 7, 2015 8:10 am

        Can I say I was helping Angie with her baby? Otherwise I will have to admit that I’m uninspired and lazy.

      • July 7, 2015 11:35 am

        Don’t misunderstand the “like” on this comment. I was not liking that you were helping care for my child but liking that you were lazy. It makes me feel better about me.

      • July 7, 2015 11:44 am

        Sure. You can say that.

  6. Emily permalink
    July 6, 2015 7:34 am

    Yaaaaayyyyyy!
    So glad to hear from you again!!
    Babies definitely take up lots of time, no hard feelings. :)
    As for Jon Cusack, well, some people still have made up conversations with him TO THIS DAY. 😳 I don’t know who though.

    • July 6, 2015 1:47 pm

      I’ve heard John Cusack has imaginary conversations with himself these days.

  7. July 6, 2015 7:38 am

    Yahoo! Yippie! Yay! Were those cool in the 70’s?

    Glad to see your smile again!

    • July 6, 2015 1:48 pm

      I think the proper ’70s response would’ve been “I’m stoned…what?” But I will accept all of the above! Thank you, Elyse!

  8. July 6, 2015 9:21 am

    Oh boy oh boy oh boy! I’ll even help Google mullets if that’s the direction you’re headed… Can’t wait to see what you’ve got cookin’ (I hope it’s Hamburger Helper!)!

    • July 6, 2015 1:50 pm

      Jules, I’ve missed you! Please promise you’ll be my friend again and we can go through this crazy world together with Hamburger Helper and mullets for all.

  9. Heathtown permalink
    July 6, 2015 11:46 am

    Welcome back, Angie. Surely this will be an even bigger event than (insert obscure show not listed). ;)

    • July 6, 2015 1:52 pm

      Well, I can certainly aspire to be as phenomenal as the spin-off “Gloria” — I’ll do my best!

      • Heathtown permalink
        July 6, 2015 2:16 pm

        Or perhaps at least excel to great heights such as “Living Dolls” or “The Ropers”? ;)

      • July 6, 2015 9:21 pm

        Wow…you are GOOD!

        PS I loved Living Dolls.

      • Heathtown permalink
        July 7, 2015 10:55 am

        As did I. I only have faint memories of it, but I remembered watching it with my sister. On weekends with Mr. Belvedere. xD

  10. July 6, 2015 12:43 pm

    Welcome back. I was going to use that Joanie Loves Chachi reference but you beat me to it. I see you are at the top of your game.

    • July 6, 2015 1:56 pm

      Thank you! But I missed referencing The Tortellis and cannot be more ashamed of this oversight.

  11. July 6, 2015 1:49 pm

    Babies DO take up a lot of time!! Guess I’ve got another 18 months to go before I can send mine out into the world and return to blogging, huh?

    Brady Brides? No idea. But now I’m scared and intrigued…..

    • July 6, 2015 1:55 pm

      Yes, once your new baby can start helping you write and research, you’re all set for your grand return! I presently have mine on a laptop searching the top ten greatest Billy Ocean ballads.

  12. July 6, 2015 5:07 pm

    See, it just shows what my mom always said: “Kids ruin everything.”

    I started mine back up recently, too, and it’s been sporadic. Which I suppose still counts for something. Glad you’re getting back to it!

    • July 6, 2015 9:25 pm

      Thanks, B-Man. Glad to see you are also up and at ’em again. My mom always said that a person on his deathbed will always regret the time they squandered away on their children when they could’ve been off writing more blog posts no one reads. So here I am.

  13. July 6, 2015 6:13 pm

    Welcome back! I’m still waiting for my bundle of joy to get a job.

    • July 6, 2015 9:20 pm

      Good gumdrops! You have your own bundle! Congratulations! So here’s the plan — this is the point where you age him at a rapid speed like Andy Keaton from Family Ties until you’re on your way to being productive once again! PS Results may vary. Andy Keaton is a convict now.

      • July 7, 2015 5:41 pm

        eee. I think I’ll take my chances with clumsy drunk baby.

      • Heathtown permalink
        July 7, 2015 5:51 pm

        I guess rapid aging him on Star Trek didn’t help either. Nor did starring in Blank Check. xD

      • July 7, 2015 8:37 pm

        I saw Blank Check in the theater. I’m sorry, universe.

      • Heathtown permalink
        July 8, 2015 11:23 am

        I watched that movie for free somehow back when it hit video. And I still wanted my money back.

      • July 8, 2015 2:46 pm

        Sadly, when you speed age kids, you then have to add another, cuter kid because the other one is now too boring ie Rudy from Cosby Show.

  14. July 7, 2015 10:54 am

    So nice to see you back. I have missed you and kept checking your URL just incase the deliveries were failing!

    While not quite your childhood – sad news I heard today. http://eonli.ne/1KKxhIL Like losing that friend/mean girl turned good Amanda Petersen. Somehow this feels a little like losing a little bit of mine – even though much later!

    OK Debbie Downer’s has left the building… Welcome Back! Looking forward to your wit and nostagalia that always make me feel good – Perhaps some StarWars what with the upcoming release?!
    You are a fav blog of mine!!

    • July 7, 2015 11:41 am

      Aw, thank you, thank you. And, yes, I did hear that news and felt very sad because I loved that movie almost as much as I loved that white leather fringed outfit.

      • July 7, 2015 12:49 pm

        RIGHT! I SOOOOOO wanted that outfit. She looked so suave. And of course, the riding off into the sunset on the riding move. Love the homage in Easy A to it as well.
        Again so glad you’re back. I’ve missed you.

  15. July 7, 2015 1:29 pm

    Yay x 1,110,000!

  16. July 7, 2015 1:45 pm

    Groovy! Welcome back, chick.

  17. July 7, 2015 8:50 pm

    What a sweet surprise to see you back! Yay! I just had my 4th anniversary too… but no babies. Weeeeelll, actually, I’m about to become a grandma. So there’s that. ;-) Welcome back! (and now i’m humming that song… “your dreams were your ticket out…”)

    • July 11, 2015 8:00 pm

      Hi, Dawn and happy anniversary on your blog! We must’ve started at the same time. What is the 4th anniversary? Paper? If so, we are all screwed since no one reads anything on paper now.

      • July 12, 2015 12:23 pm

        I didn’t even post for my anniversary this year! I was too lazy… hmm, the wedding parallels are interesting. ;-)

      • July 12, 2015 1:57 pm

        Ha!

  18. July 7, 2015 9:27 pm

    Hey Mama! Good to see your weirdo face again. I just binge-watched the entire first season of Pee-Wee’s Playhouse on DVD with the kids. You must have heard us screaming for the word of the day…

    So, only one kid in two years? Not two? Sissy. :D

    • July 8, 2015 2:44 pm

      Clearly, she is not a Duggar.

    • July 11, 2015 7:55 pm

      Hello, Shannon! I’ve missed you! I just looked at your blog and my mind is officially blown. It looks super slick and professional. What blog store did you buy that in?!? I need to go down to the blog store and grab one up for me.

      • July 11, 2015 9:15 pm

        WP, Baby! It’s a canned them, if you can believe that. Your footprint clued me in, otherwise I might not have known you posted (it’s summer…I am mostly unplugged).

        Mucho changes over here since your last post, tho sadly, no dumpster dive. I can only imagine what it’s been like for you. Really nice to see you back, Angie. :D

    • July 11, 2015 7:55 pm

      Pee-Wee is on Netflix. My kids love/fear it.

  19. July 7, 2015 11:05 pm

    Hi Angie! I will follow you to the ends of the earth! Wait…I mean, I will follow you to your new blog! Though I will miss the old one. Wait…I mean, this one.

    • July 11, 2015 7:43 pm

      Aw, you’re too good to me, Todd. Thank you. It’s good to see you around this old place again.

  20. July 8, 2015 2:43 pm

    Yay, you’re back! It’s gotten kind of dull around here. I have also been uninspired, but hopefully my inspiration is back what with making Disney characters fight to the death in my latest blog series Disney Hunger Games. Or not.

    Also – mullets. They must be discussed. We owe it to our children.

    • July 11, 2015 7:45 pm

      Disney characters fight to the death?! I left and it’s like the final days of Rome around here!

      Yes, we must inform kids about mullets. If history teaches us anything, it’s to not make the same mistakes again.

  21. beck16 permalink
    July 9, 2015 12:37 am

    Wooohooooo!

    I was just telling my son the other day how much fun I had on my pogo ball….this is so much better than that!

    http://youtu.be/QWWjihdUQTs (Just in case :-D)

    • July 11, 2015 7:51 pm

      I LOVED my Pogo Ball. I thought I was the only one who even used it in the history of Pogo Balls — a history that runs as deep as roughly one year. I don’t think they sold them very long. Mine was black with a red rim. I remember standing in my basement trying to balance on it (not jump, mind you…. “Daniel-san, must learn balance first”) while I watched Nick@Nite.

  22. July 9, 2015 10:35 am

    Welcome back, Angie!!! I look forward to reliving the good and bad parts of childhood with you!!!

Trackbacks

  1. It Takes a Village | Childhood Relived

Comment. All the cool kids do.

